We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A magical experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast was a very magical place for us! We enjoyed the quiet calm of the bed and breakfast and really prefer that now to the hustle and bustle of a hotel. The closeness to the beach was also perfect. The breakfast was very good and we started our day very satisfied. I would go back again and again. Jed and Virginia are really kind and their attention to detail helped make the trip great for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you Monica. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and took the time to post a review. Thanks for the coffee cups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
202
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first stay at Cape Hatteras B&B, and we
enjoyed it very much. Virginia & Jed were a very nice, young
couple and I could tell wanted to put their best foot forward
in the B&B market.

They did a nice job with the breakfasts.

The room we stayed (Mitch) was clean and accommodating,
the bed was big and comfortable, and the shower
was roomy; however, the shower head was lacking in water
spray pressure. There was also a hint of a “musty” odor in the room
that we didn't really pick up on until the end of our stay.

Virginia directed us to some wonderful places to eat dinner including
a great place in Ocracoke. Virginia & Jed were well organized
and ran a smooth operation. We will definitely look to staying here again
when we come back to Cape Hatteras!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaZ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you Andrea for your review. I am glad that you guys enjoyed your overall stay here. I am disappointed to read that the room had a hint of a musty smell. We repainted, put in new carpet, and replaced the furniture in February. I will check into that and replace the shower head. We look forward to seeing you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. Jed and Virginia set the bar high! They were young, friendly, and masters at what they do. Our stay in the Andrew room was awesome. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious. The hospitality was impressive. We will definitely come back and have recommended this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amh1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you AMH for taking the time to leave a review about your stay, and recommending us to your friends. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Springs, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay! Everything was very nice and rooms were nice and modern and very clean! We loved the breakfast!! :) They made you feel at home! The beach was just a short walk away and we didn't even have to bring chairs, coolers, umbrellas! They had it all for you to use! So nice! Jed and Virginia have worked very hard to have a really nice place to stay while your visiting the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you Anna. We were happy you guys chose to spend your special celebration at our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We enjoyed out second visit to the Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast. The newer proprietors are extremely nice and helpful. Breakfasts were extremely good--especially the quiches. I also appreciate the afternoon treats. We enjoyed sitting on the patio several times, with a bottle of wine, and viewing the sunsets over the ocean. We used the bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, and other beach supplies. On a rainy day we stayed in the common living room and played games and conversed with other guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hugo room, which is very nice. Know that it has a European shower--meaning much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are glad you guys enjoyed your time here Thomas. It was a pleasure meeting everybody in your group and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent two nights at eh Cape Hatteras B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Virginia and Jed are running a first class operation. The rooms were modern and clean, the lounge area spacious, the breakfasts superb and the beach only a three minute walk away. Our hosts were knowledgeable about the area and helpful in every way. We have already booked time for the summer of 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Marty. We enjoyed meeting you guys and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farragut, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is the the treasure on the sea coast. Virginia & Jed make you feel like family, cook like family, and you can't get better than that. The atmosphere is exactly why you stay at B & B's, meet people with the same goals on vacation. The beach equipment was is perfect condition, and location was perfect, just a walk away from the beach & bait shop. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the refrig kept things quite cold, and the microwave was available if needed. Ice was available with out any hassles and Virginia did spoil your sweet tooth with those home make cookies. The window A/C was a bit loud but it definitely did it's job on the top floor to keep the heat out. The room (Mitch) was immaculately clean, be careful when you enter the room for the 1st time because you step down into the room, I forgot to ask why. This bed & breakfast is the best in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underwayatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper46223, General Manager at Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for you positive review Underwayatlast. We were so glad you guys were able to make it down here and relax after the unavoidable change in plans. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.1 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cape Hatteras Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46223 Old Lighthouse Road, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: wireless internet, fresh made breakfasts, filtered drinking water, homemade mint tea, and an afternoon snack. Relax on our sundeck with a beautiful view of the ocean, comfortable seating, and a gas grill. Enjoy using our enclosed outdoor H/C showers, lockable surfboard and sailboard storage, bicycles, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags. Travel light and keep us in mind for quick escapes, sanity breaks, and relaxing vacations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras b&b
Cape Hatteras Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Bed Breakfast
Cape Hatteras Bed And Breakfast Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing