We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always clean and comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Pines Motel to your Saves list
Cape Pines Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always clean and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I started staying at Cape Pines once we got our first dog almost 6 years ago. We love that we can bring him along. The owners are very friendly and have worked hard to revitalize this motel. The rooms are always clean and there's never a hint that another pet has been there. There is a nice fenced area where you can take your dog for exercise and a potty break. My only gripe is that some of the pet owners do not clean up after their pets potty as they are supposed to, and the motel even provides bags for pet waste right outside of the gate. Some people are just lazy and rude -- that will never change and it's not the owners' fault. I highly recommend Cape Pines.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivergal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    80
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
111
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at the Cape Pines Motel while cleanup was still going on from the recent Hurricane. The surrounding area was a mess as can be expected but this facility had a very friendly staff and very clean rooms. It felt a bit dated, like straight out of the 1950's but nevertheless, it was better than we expected. Not sure we'd stay there again since there are so many choices and we were there during the off season. Over all we were satisfied with the Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Surprisingly very clean and comfortable for the price. I had to find a place to stay on the outerbanks for work purposes for a reasonable amount. I had stayed at a previous motel but didn't like it too much. I saw the reviews online and got a basic standard room and wasn't expecting much, but again very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley Nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Capepines Sept 29 2012 thru Oct 3 2012, Room was Clean, Nice room King Bed, Refrigerator, Microwave, Looked to have been Remodeled, Nice for a 60,s Motel. Owners were in Floridas, Didn,t get to meet. Man at front Desk was OK, Enjoyed our Stay. Would Stay there Again. Was in Room 12, would have preferred not to have been near Stairs outside

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coastallover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here one night while driving through the outer banks. The hotel owners are VERY pleasant and are fellow bulldog lovers. Their bulldog actually skate boards which is awesome to watch. The hotel rooms are outdated but they are very clean. For what you get we did think the hotel is a little overpriced. Some small updates (new bed sheets and towels) would make for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybug314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a few nights last summer before checking into a beach cottage. We stayed in one of the pet friendly one bedroom suites that faced the pool. I was extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the room. No signs to indicate that an animal had ever occupied the room. The owner was very welcoming...We enjoyed the "entertainment", the owners bull dog would play outside and it was fun to watch her ride a skateboard. I would recommend staying here if you are traveling to the Outer Banks, it had everything we needed. In our case, it is stressful traveling with pets, you leave home early to avoid traffic, you arrive too early to check in. If you leave late, you add hours to your travel time. This suited us perfectly, booked an extra night so we could stay as long as we pleased until cottage was ready. There is a grocery store right across the street. Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura Brittain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I read every review and should have considered the poor reviews more than I did the positive reviews. Please read this review....The hotel from the outside was cubious looking. The rooms were large and very clean but VERY outdated. Furnished with garage sale furniture. The linen was clean but very old. The bed quilt was so faded that I was not sure what would have been the original color. TV mounted on wall was too small for the room . The kitchen was small but usable. The electric stove top was covered in tin fol under the burners. The cupboard under the sink had such an odor that we took the garbage can out so as to not open the door.. THe bathroom floor has a dinner plate size whole at the base of the toilet. The staff were excellent. Very accomodaing and kind.. The price was outrageous for what we got.

Room Tip: If you are a group of guys fishing...this would be a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nell k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing