We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nostalgic and charming!”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton TX
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nostalgic and charming!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

absolutely loved this motel! it is older but the rooms are clean and big and everything works just fine! the owners were very helpful with info about the area, particularly about the ferries. Would love to spend a week here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    88
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
105
127
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Felt like I was in a 1960's hotel. Rooms were clean, plumbing was old but it worked. Customer service was great but really needs updating. For the price you paid for room I expected more. Paid less for better room earlier in the week during my travels

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 760904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at Cape Pines! Definately the best place for pets. This is an older motel so don't expect th Ritz but the location and pet friendly atmosphere can't be beat. We loved the walk to the shell shop. Loved swims in the pool after a day on the beach. We had the suite which had most of what we needed except a large enough pot to cook crabs in. But when we asked for one at the desk they were happy to get us one. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finedine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Endroit super, près d'une épicerie familiale, la piscine est parfaite après une journée à la plage! La chambre avec lit king est super! Des BBQ sont disponibles! Les Proprios sont très sympathiques et accommodant!

Il s'agissait de notre 2e séjour et nous y retournerons!


It's a nice place, near a family grocery, the pool is good after a day at the beach! Rooms are clean, we've loved the king room! Gaz BBQ available on the site ! Very nice owners!

we will return!

Room Tip: King room are in front of the motel, facing the route 12, but with A/c your heard nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Buxton at the Cape Pines Motel. The owners were very nice and accomodating and the room was great. The grounds and pool were clean and well kept and it also had a market across the street that came in handy. The location was great...real close to Cape Hatteras lighthouse and beach. The Beach was Beautiful. We would definately stay again.
Scot and Karen from Michigan

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleshnbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Bed is comfortable and rooms are decorated nice but the walls are thin. Sounds from adjacent guests are easily heard. Its location across from a grocery store and neara the lighthouse is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbinger, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The people at the front desk were very nice. The room we were give was in the center of the second floor. It was a quiet location and very clean. We asked the front desk clerk for a recommendation for breakfast - he suggested the Shipwreck Restaurant - it was WONDERFUL! I would definitely stay at Cape Pines again and definitely return to Shipwreck!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, very quiet. Good recommendation from front desk for breakfast at the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
151 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing