We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little Gem on the Outer Banks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice little Gem on the Outer Banks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was the last night of a week staying in chain motels, so it was a real welcome change. It was like being home already. It is not a normal cookie cutter chain hotel. It is very homey, clean and inviting. I am not sure if we would ever past this way again but we would certainly stay her again if we did. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    86
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
95
122
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conowingo, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We thought we lost the key when we first arrived, so my husband moved some of the furniture to try to find it. What we found was that our room was spotless, not even a dust bunny to be found... even though it's pet-friendly. The owners, Bill & Angie, are attentive, personable, and make you feel right at home. The kitchenette was compact and very convenient, well-stocked for making simple meals and snacks, with a nice little breakfast bar to eat at. Love the original hardwood floors, so much cleaner than carpeting. King bed was extremely comfortable. Our yellow lab was very comfy and right at home too. She loved it. Market right across the street that you can walk to. Within a couple miles of beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Like past stays, the service and hospitality I received on my last stay was great! The room was clean and comfortable. Several places to eat are within walking distance from the hotel and the Cape Hatteras lighthouse is a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsgrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degerhamn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights on birdwatching trip. Quiet, clean. Would definitely stay there again. Staff friendly and helpful. My room was rustic with nice wooden floors (no wall-to-wall carpets that are rarely clean) and wooden panelling on the walls. Although pets are allowed, my room showed no indication of any furry critters and there was no noise from any pets staying at the hotel. Air conditioner worked well, and I could even have a window with a screen open for some fresh air.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Booked because of trip advisor reviews . . . but apparently I did not read enough of them to get the full picture! This place has 3 distinct sections of rooms, pehaps other rooms are in better shape. My room had water stains on the ceiling, peeling paint, holes in the wall, etc . . . The view from the balcony included a POWER STATION and a supermarket - not exactly what I look for in a vacation spot! Overall, the room was old and tired (but, as most reviews attest, spotlessly clean). The room was not level - anything placed on the desk, fridge or micro would eventually slide off, and we both felt like we were sliding to the foot of the bed. The motel is right next to the electric coop, in neighborhood of single-wide trailers and businesses. The picinic area resembles the exercise yard at a minimum security prison. There were old mattresses stacked outside in two locations, incomplete landscaping, trash and debris in the yard and around the pool. The motel is cheap, and looks and feels it. I have stayed at ocean front hotels nearby for less money. Stay here if all you care about are "pet-friendly" and "clean floors." If you want well-appointed, convenient and comfortable, keep looking. It is not the worst place I've ever stayed, but it does not live up to many of the reviews I read. I really have to wonder where they came from . . .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abbeys0me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My familily and I were suppose to get by the OBX at the Cape Pines Motel for a 3 night stay when Irene the Hurricane decide to also pass by the OBX. We call "Jeannine" at Cape Pines to cancel our reservation. We were only a few hours prior our reservation and they simply cancel it. It's the best undurstanding services we ever had. It's already sad to did'nt have the chance to enjoy our stay but when in addition you have to pay, it's worst... Thank you so much to Jeannine and the owner and be sure we going to Cape Pines Motel for our next year vacation. Thanks!
Sara & JS

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in a room that was second floor of side that faces power station. So, that is the view if you choose that side. We also choose second floor based on prior experience of being on first floor. You could hear every footstep!
The room is a basic room with TV and small fridge. The AC worked well, beds were comfortable. Only complaint was the shower head and fluctuating water temperature---be careful. Also, WiFi was very sketchy.
In a breezeway, there is an ice machine, microwave, laundry machines, vending machines, and computer hookup.
The pool is just basic rectangle that I remember as a child. It was fairly clean but mosquitoes are very active in the evening.
We would stay there again. It is central to everything on the island, and there is a very good market across the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank metalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing