We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant”
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We ended up here because the NPS campground in Ocracoke was flooded. We had just spent the day washing and drying our clothes. The hotel staff person was wonderful. Delightfully pleasant. We only wanted a room for a night and he gave us a double queen room on the second floor. Room was nicely furnished and clean. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mims2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    86
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
98
125
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was excited because of all the great reviews I read, but ended up disappointed. We have been going to Buxton for years, stayed many places that were less money and just about the same value. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean, but that's really it. Parking is especially inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was our second visit to the Outer Banks, and both times, we stayed at Cape Pines Motel. I have nothing but good things to say about both experiences. The owners are wonderful people who are both helpful and courteous.

On our second visit we brought our English Bulldogs, and it is very pet friendly and the facilities are nicely designed for people with pets.
The rooms are cozy and very clean for a motel that accepts pets as well. Across the street, you have a store that makes getting anything you forgot, or need, easily accessible.
There is a gas grill in the courtyard that everyone can use and the pool is always clean. We also enjoyed exploring the small path behind Cape Pines Motel and The Old Gray House.
In conclusion, we have always enjoyed our experience here, and if we are lucky enough to return to Buxton, the Cape Pines Motel will be our only choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HStevens66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you are looking for a Hilton or Marriott type stay this is not it....you should consider staying in Kitty Hawy, KDH, or Nags Head. If you are looking for local flavor on Hatteras Island this is the only place to stay! This places was so clean you could literally eat of the floors, and I've never said that about any hotel floor! There is a pool, a Weber grill for guest use, and an ice machine. And they're VERY pet friendly. The owner works the front office and was very helpfull. The rooms was quaint and beach, and offer a small refrigerator and coffee pot. Connor's Market is across the street and Orange Blossom Bakery (featured in Southern Living and a "must have" if you are within 100 miles!) is a short walk away. We had a great stay for Memorial Day weekend and have already booked a room for 4th of July weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bluecrab707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My 38-year-old daughter came down to NC for a visit after almost a year and a half of not seeing her. We decided to drive down to the Outer Banks and stay the night and relive some of the sights and sounds of her childhood. (We used to camp every July 4th weekend down on Hatteras Island.) My sister also has bought a home in Duck and is in the process of refurbishing it and I wanted to see her and her new place. We were on the drive down (3 1/2 hrs from home to Nags Head) and I got my daughter to look on the phone and find us a pet friendly place to stay on Hatteras Island. She called several and we decided on the Cape Pines Motel. She called and got a reservation for that night and held it with my credit card. She was never told that there was a 48-hour cancellation time or that if we were a no show that the credit card would be charged anyway. We were both under the impression that the room was being "held" until we got there, not that we were being "charged" at that moment for the room. Anyway, we went and visited with my sister and by the time we got back to Nags Head it was dusk. I do not drive after dark! So we stopped in Nags Head for the night due to the fact that it would have been life threatening to go across the Bonner Bridge. At 10:45 that night I received a call from, he said he was the owner. I was in bed with the phone plugged in for charging and could not get to the phone in time. He left a message stating that the office was closing and that he would leave room 9 open for us. I called him right back and told him that we had HAD to stop earlier because of my inability to drive after dark. He stated about the 48-hour policy. I told him that I was under the impression they were only "holding" the room until we checked in. Mind you, this was in April, which is off season. He said no, that when you give your credit card you are CHARGED at that moment. He was unwilling to even listen to me or make any concessions for the situation. I hung up in tears. My daughter called back and talked to him but he was unwilling to waiver in the policy. I am on Social Security and this double whammy of being charged for 2 motel rooms is going to bite into my ability to get through the month.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank gma2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brapant, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Innkeepers do not enjoy charging "No Shows" when guests fail to show up for a guaranteed/confirmed reservation. A confirmed reservation means we will hold a room for your arrival as a matter of mutual agreement. As explained to the traveler and her daughter (upon placing the reservation), a credit card number is taken to guarantee arrival for the room (or "hold" a room for your arrival). We DO NOT automatically charge a credit card for a room booking as assumed by the traveler; all accounts are due upon arrival by cash or credit card. As explained, if the traveler had the courtesy of making a phone call to the hotel with a last minute change in plans, we would have cancelled the reservation with no charge. We go above & beyond, leaving the guest a voicemail at 11pm explaining which room was available for them that evening, with the lights/heat turned on, and a note on the registration office door for their late arrival. We regret any confusion this guest may have had regarding the status of the room we held for their arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky mount nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Recently spent a weekend at the Hotel and loved my stay. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Grocery store across the road and a few good eating places within walking distance. Next trip to the Outer Banks will include staying the the Cape Pines again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishingRockyMountNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Friendly staff at motel. Room was clean and bedding very comfortable. Only negative would be thin walls. Fell asleep to a guy with a deep voice talking in next room. Would definitely stay there again though. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTraveler3716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.1 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
8.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing