We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Casual, enjoyable restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Shoals

Diamond Shoals
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Austin, TExas, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual, enjoyable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A friend and I visiting Hatteras ate here several times during a beachhouse stay in early October. The restaurant is pleasant and quiet enough to talk, they serve a wide range of seafood (if I had been going back for more trips, I would have gotten more experimental with the wide variety they serve), and everything was good.

I'm from Texas and never had hushpuppies like that before -- they are head and shoulders above the Texas variety!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    195
    77
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Soothes the Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It has become our tradition to get to the Diamond Shoals Restuarant "on time" every year during our jaunt southward to Buxton from our Nags Head cottage. I say "on time" because it closes early at lunch to get ready for dinner and we learned the hard way! The "fried spot" sign pulled us in the first time. The food brings us back. Order a "basket".....with grouper or with clam strips and the best french fries!! Do not leave without having the clam chowder!!! Absolutely delicious!! The place is plain and to the point. You are there to eat! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We love this place. Add to the experience the girl unloading a trunk full of drum in clothes baskets for the attached seafood market! Priceless!!!!! It doesn't get any fresher than that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigeye149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The seafood is most excellent. Prices are a bit high, but not unexpected in a resort area. Wife had crab cakes and I had a grouper filet. Both excellent.

Ate breakfast here the next morning. Also good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been going here for years and always get a good meal whether it be breakfast or dinner. Service is always good. Their coffee is the best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There aren't too many breakfast spots in Buxton, NC if you want a full breakfast. This was a good place. I had an omelette - it was kind of flat. Biscuit was fluffy. Service was okay. The waitress was very friendly when she came by but it wasn't frequently enough. The restaurant was freezing. I had to go to the vehicle to get a jacket.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing