We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outer Banks Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Hatteras Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
65
50
12
10
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
50
12
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubouter banksamazing familyenclosed porchocean frontefficiency roomhigh tidefull kitchenget awaylove this placefishing tripbit datedwould stay againwi finothing fancycape hatteras national seashorefood lion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 156 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Grumpy Ms Gray finally gave in and allowed us to move to another room only after I had explained that it was impossible to stay one more second in Cottage G (part of Carolyn’s Cottages). I guess the people before us didn’t complain so it couldn’t be true. I have patronized this property for years, almost 10, and have stayed in almost every cottage they have, I don’t expect much as they are an older and outdated. But I love the location and that I can bring my dog. So just be careful and don’t rent Cottage G or any of the other ones that are on a cement slab foundations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Javasmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The location is fantastic. No matter which unit you stay in, the beach is right there and you are close to great restaurants and the sites. But the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The beds were Motel 6 quality. The room smells of just enough water damage that you can be certain that your allergies will start right up. We had a view of the water but the chairs on the balcony were so uncomfortable that you wouldn't want to sit long. The hotel doesn't offer any seating out at the beach and there are no beach chair/umbrella guys even trying to rent you one, so come prepared with all your own beach gear. But if you want location to both the ocean and the kiteboarding side of the island, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here during a sightseeing trip up the East Coast. This is a wonderful motel - clean, nice room, friendly, and everything you could want - right on the beach, nice pool, hot tub. For the price, this motel is a great value. The restaurant across the street serves a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcrb04a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I wanted to spend a week at the beach to celebrate out 25th wedding anniversary. We didn't want anyplace fancy as we did not plan to be in our room much but cleanliness, quiet, location (directly on the beach), and price were important factors. This motel met all of our criteria. It is true that the motel is older but we consider that charming. Our room (efficiency 103) was very nice. It had a new full size refrigerator, an electric stove, microwave and color TV. The cabinets were new. Everything was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils and linens. The beds were comfortable. Our a/c did not work when we got there but the temps were low enough that we were able to open all the windows and get a lovely cross breeze and the sound of the surf. Management had the a/c fixed almost immediately. We really liked the screened in porch and we loved the covered parking. Everything we wanted to do or see was just a short walk or drive away. We even used the little laundry they provide while we were there. The diner across the street makes the best food and desserts! We also highly recommend the Dolphin Den (Avon) and Diamond Shoals restaurants, The food is delicious and reasonably priced and the service is excellent. Everyone we encountered down there were friendly and outgoing. We have decided we want to go back there again, hopefully as an annual family outing with our children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drgnwyfe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here in 2007, 2008, 2009 and have trip planned for 2010. If you like the beach a laid back atmosphere - not overcrowded - this is it!

Yes it is and older place but it is clean and I don't think you could get any closer to the beach.

We are looking forward to our 2010 trip!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews