We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved location but Cottage G is full of mold spores”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved location but Cottage G is full of mold spores”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Grumpy Ms Gray finally gave in and allowed us to move to another room only after I had explained that it was impossible to stay one more second in Cottage G (part of Carolyn’s Cottages). I guess the people before us didn’t complain so it couldn’t be true. I have patronized this property for years, almost 10, and have stayed in almost every cottage they have, I don’t expect much as they are an older and outdated. But I love the location and that I can bring my dog. So just be careful and don’t rent Cottage G or any of the other ones that are on a cement slab foundations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Javasmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    11
    10
    17
See reviews for
63
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The location is fantastic. No matter which unit you stay in, the beach is right there and you are close to great restaurants and the sites. But the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The beds were Motel 6 quality. The room smells of just enough water damage that you can be certain that your allergies will start right up. We had a view of the water but the chairs on the balcony were so uncomfortable that you wouldn't want to sit long. The hotel doesn't offer any seating out at the beach and there are no beach chair/umbrella guys even trying to rent you one, so come prepared with all your own beach gear. But if you want location to both the ocean and the kiteboarding side of the island, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed here during a sightseeing trip up the East Coast. This is a wonderful motel - clean, nice room, friendly, and everything you could want - right on the beach, nice pool, hot tub. For the price, this motel is a great value. The restaurant across the street serves a great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcrb04a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrum, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I wanted to spend a week at the beach to celebrate out 25th wedding anniversary. We didn't want anyplace fancy as we did not plan to be in our room much but cleanliness, quiet, location (directly on the beach), and price were important factors. This motel met all of our criteria. It is true that the motel is older but we consider that charming. Our room (efficiency 103) was very nice. It had a new full size refrigerator, an electric stove, microwave and color TV. The cabinets were new. Everything was clean and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils and linens. The beds were comfortable. Our a/c did not work when we got there but the temps were low enough that we were able to open all the windows and get a lovely cross breeze and the sound of the surf. Management had the a/c fixed almost immediately. We really liked the screened in porch and we loved the covered parking. Everything we wanted to do or see was just a short walk or drive away. We even used the little laundry they provide while we were there. The diner across the street makes the best food and desserts! We also highly recommend the Dolphin Den (Avon) and Diamond Shoals restaurants, The food is delicious and reasonably priced and the service is excellent. Everyone we encountered down there were friendly and outgoing. We have decided we want to go back there again, hopefully as an annual family outing with our children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drgnwyfe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here in 2007, 2008, 2009 and have trip planned for 2010. If you like the beach a laid back atmosphere - not overcrowded - this is it!

Yes it is and older place but it is clean and I don't think you could get any closer to the beach.

We are looking forward to our 2010 trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

A very nice place. Right on the beach. Rooms are sorta outdated but I found them to be comfortable, very clean (and I'm very, very picky) as you may be able to tell from my other reviews here.
It is literally on the beach. Private, great parking. Bathroom was well sized and clean. Beds were double - kinda small, but comfortable. We would not hesitate going there again. We did not use the pool area even though it was actually open because it was early April and chilly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

My family & I rented one of the village homes managed by the Outer Banks Motel. We had full access to the motel's pool & linen service which was nice and convenient. Our house was very spacious & equipped for a beach week. However, our dished were filthy when we arrived and the decor was extremely outdated. The sheets & bathrooms were clean. Trash bags & dish soap were not provided which I felt was a little ridiculous for the price. I would recommend this if you have plenty of plans for your stay, not if you are looking to cozy up in a fancy room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
304 reviews
10.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Property: Outer Banks Motel
Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing