We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast biscuits!”
Review of Shipwreck Grill - CLOSED

Shipwreck Grill
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast biscuits!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the first time I have been to the Shipwreck Grille and I must say, I was impressed. The staff was friendly. The food was reasonably priced (considering it's at the beach). The breakfast biscuits were terrific! I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mudduck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    22
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Expectations were not great. Shrimp in wrap and hoagie were superb - all else including friendliness, ambience, and food presentation lacked effort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacherbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty but overpriced breakfast”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My eggs, biscuit, grits and bacon were perfect. My husband's "home fries" seemed to be made somewhere else. Fruit bowls were tasteless. My cappuccino was very good, plain coffee was average. Hate the styrofoam and plastic tableware which is ubiquitous on Hatteras.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momcat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid island fare”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by for a quick lunch, got a burger and a crab dip. The wait for the food was a little long given they were half empty, but all dishes that the wait staff was carrying by our table looked really good! The burger was good, but the crab dip was somewhat questionable - it didn't taste much like crab, or like cheese... in short, it was hard to tell what it tasted like. I would probably make a different selection if I come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l00karound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great latte and quick breakfast bite”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was plain shocked that my latte was great! The first and only decent coffee drink while at the OBX. My eggs were good and my husband's breakfast biscuit sandwich was deelish. Couldn't hate it for a quick, casual bite to eat before heading out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cm4delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Grill also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing