We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodn breakfast”
Review of Shipwreck Grill - CLOSED

Shipwreck Grill
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Goodn breakfast”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ate breakfast there 4 times the last week of August. Omlets are great. Buttermilk pancakes were out of this world. Glad there's a restaurant across the street from the Lighthouse View Motel. Prices WERE comparable to the old restaurant that was there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    22
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The chef is wonderful. Everything on the menu is delicious! This is our favorite spot to eat on HI. Try the french toast, the shrimp in lager, the chicken salad, the specials and the red velvet cake and the peanut butter brownies. All of them are fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Don't Recommend”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved the former restaurant at this site . The service was unfriendly. The food was expensive and the portions were small. Not recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodsurfer, General Manager at Shipwreck Grill, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Your comment leads little for explanation.We serve a basic breakfast with the same portion size as the rest of the local restaurants and the prices are simular as well.Our portions on the sandwiches come with 5oz. of meat,burgers 8oz.,salads offering fresh lettuce,fruit,tomatoes,onions,cuccumbers(more than enough)Soups range from 8 to 12oz.Our specials are priced at $8.99 half the time our portions are too big and the guest take the rest home.As far as my waitress with an attitude,I remember when you folks came in and believe me,you were not in the best of mood.My staff works very hard to maintain quality service and attitudes are not tollerated.In closing,I also remember you saying everything was great,and you tipped over 20%.If your experience was as bad as you have written,may I suggest that you let a manager know in order to correct any problems you might have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“A Shipwreck indeed.....”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

With the amount of poor reviews on line, I am surprised that the owners are not getting the hint. I guess they are comfortable in a market with limited competition

The fact that the parking lot was empty at prime breakfast time was a red flag that I wish I had heeded. The service was ok, and quick, so we cannot fault the waitress who was really quite good. The food however (which is ultimately what you are paying for) left alot to be desired. The eggs were the only hot items on the plate, suggesting that everything else had been prepared hours ahead and then plated when the eggs were ready. The sausage was of a very poor quality, and we guessed it was purchased for the low price and nothing else. It was gritty, and full of fatty gristly bits that could not be chewed. The grits were hard and lumpy (again, cooked too far ahead of time) and flavourless. The toast was cold and un-buttered. The coffee was passable, but we can brew a batter cup at home. The final blow is the price, at $7.99 before coffee, you are better to stay home and cook yourself a decent breakfast with some good Jimmy Dean sausage and creamy grits, or (dare I say it), try the restaurant a little further south with the packed parking lot. You will note at the cash that "Chef Steve" has his business cards prominently displayed. We think the chef needs to re-evaluate his breakfast food selection and line cook, however, the name of the restaurant is bang on!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodsurfer, General Manager at Shipwreck Grill, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your overly exaggerated comment.Let's start with your parking issue.There are three other bussiness located in the same building.Shipwreck grill,Fatty's ice cream shop,Day Dreams and sometimes Cape Hatteras Motel.So parking not only is in the front but extends over to the southside of our building which had over twelve cars not including employees.On the day you visited,we nearly ended up breaking a record for the most breakfasts done this year(in numbers over 200 people)Now to the food issue,All produce,protein,are fresh and rotated daily to maintain quality.You said Jimmy Dean sausage,well dear friend that was Jimmy Dean sausage.Since the day we opened breakfast,you are the first to insult the quality of our sausage.In fact we cook small amounts at a time so the sausage doesn't dry out in steamtable.As far as the toast not being buttered,we give the guess the option to butter their own due to health reasons.That's why we offer butter at your table.There is a toaster located underneath the heatlamps where your food is place before it comes to the table.Our grits are Stone Ground and cooked for at least an hour to assure each kernnel is cooked.Lumpy not a chance.Our coffee comes from Tidewater coffee company,One of the best coffees on the East Coast.The price you mentioned is as reasonable as it gets.It's only breakfast so there is no reason to charge anymore than other places do.We want the bussines.Now you make it very personal when you bring my name up for your entertainment.As far as my cooks go,they put out a quality product everyday and as far as my ability to manage a restaurant let alone my kitchen is not a complaint but a insult.Please come in and enjoy another experience at the Shipwreck Grill,you will never forget!A'du
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Quick service, but overall the food felt like it should have been served at a cafeteria. Not worth the price. Then they haggled with us when we forgot to use our coupon til the check came back

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nm4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Grill also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing