We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed eating here!”
Review of Hurricane's - CLOSED

Hurricane's
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed eating here!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband, brother,sister in law and I ate here last night and really enjoyed the food. My sister in law and I had a shrimp basket. Surprised that it came with fries, hushpuppies and cole slaw. The cole slaw is the best that I've had. The shrimp was lightly breaded, which I liked. My husband had the fried oysters which he said was very tasty. Our waitress was very attentive. Liked the casual atmosphere and it had about 6 or 7 flat screen Tv's. Look forward to eating here next time we are in Buxton!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You should try this place”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The blackened mahi sandwich was great. Moist and flaky.This was the fish of the day. What was even better was the fried shrimp. The light batter was perfectly spiced.I usually don't care for shrimp but these were delicious. They also weren't tough. They are on the everyday menu. Good hush puppies and friendly service. Next time I am in Buxton I will be dining here again. I feel it is an outstanding value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jckingcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome food, get the crabcake sandwich!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place doesn't look fancy, it is humble and homey, but comfortable and clean...and the food is outstanding. Fresh ingredients, great flavors. The crabcake sandwich is one of the best I've had (and I've had a bunch of them!) and the fried oysters are probably the best I have had- gigantic local oysters with just enough breading- not too much to overwhelm the oysters. They also have great drinks, I had a couple of hurricanes and they were delish, and my husband had some draft beers. Service is very attentive and friendly, our server was Ashley and she was great. You must try this place if driving through the Hatteras area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rwpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Meal in Buxton”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I ate here for dinner two nights ago, and we had a great expirience. I had the fried oyster basket and my wife had the flounder dinner. They were both excellent. The hush puppies were some of the best we have ever eaten, and the cole slaw was very good too. Heather's offers Coke products, which we like when drinking the occasional soda.

The service was excellent as you might expect as our server was Heather herself. She was most friendly, attentive and has a great sense of humor.

The decor is casual, typical bar/restaurant set-up. The table we sat in by the window was really cool; looked like from wood was taken from an old ship. There are some very nice paintings, photographs and stained glass art decorating the walls an windows.

The price as good and we recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Cape Hatteras Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family ate here for my husband's birthday, and we found the food delicious. From chicken, hamburgers, fish, shrimp, and crab, it was all prepared to perfection. The hush puppies were some of the best we have ever eaten, as was the cole slaw.
The service was excellent; our server was friendly and attentive.
The decor is casual - basic, but the tables are fascinating. Wood was taken from old ships.
We will be eating here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane's also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing