We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place was really nice. Very clean, great price, nice people. Very close to the beach, and it's VERY beautiful here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place was really nice. Very clean, great price, nice people. Very close to the beach, and it's VERY beautiful here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great price, really clean room, comfortable bed. Nice people. The beach is right outside your door, and is BEAUTIFUL. If you looking for some high class hotel with room service and a large TV you don't belong here. This place was awesome. I'd return any day :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2'nd or 3'rd floors for the best beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    82
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
95
113
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My first impression of the room was that it smelled a bit musty. Started to fix coffee for the morning and when I got ready to put a filter in. housekeeping had left a used filter in it and there was mold all over it. Had to walk all the way to the office and the clerk was very helpful in cleaning it for me. There was no shower head on the shower. The room was in need of some cleaning and maintenance. For the price I expected better. If I ever decide to come back I hope to find a new improved room. I was happy with the room having such a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Building C has best ocean views. Although it may be the older of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are 10 days away from our 5th visit to this establishment. We were supposed to be here for our anniversary in July, sadly my Mom past away the day before we were to leave. When I called to cancel, I expected to lose my deposit, as per the terms for the reservation. To my surprise, they did not penalize us, and were very sympathetic to my loss. Well I am going back to hatteras because it's a beautiful place with great people, laid back and caring. As for the property it is what it is, they make no bones about it. It's been battered by hurricanes, rain and wind, but somehow they pull it off, so in conclusion I highly recommend this establishment if you are beach lovers, fisherman or just want peace and quiet. I will post again after my stay, but if past history is any indicator it will be a positive experience. Can't wait for some fresh fish tacos..

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vjm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. It is an older motel, so if your looking for 5 stars look elsewhere, but if you like a great view, clean room ,nice people and salty air, then definitely stay here. Room was clean, yes a bit dated, TV was small, but really, if you come to stay here are you really going to sit in your room and watch TV? Great location right on the beach, nice outdoor pool across street, owners were friendly and had good information at check-in. Maid service was daily and did a great job considering all the sand we seemed to track in!! Sorry...
Highly recommend Angelos Pizza a block or so away, very good. If you like a "beach" house feel and a great location and don't mind not being at a Hilton, than I highly recommend this location. Great spot for family's and beachcombing too.

Room Tip: Get a room 2nd floor or higher to avoid "dune view"..unless you like looking at sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSP-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you go there, you'll learn Buxton is a beautiful little village pretty far off the beaten path so things are perhaps simpler. And the Cape Hatteras Motel fits right in. We loved it! The folks working there were very helpful and friendly. While the room was older and simpler, both the bath and main room were large and we had everything we needed. We slept with the window open listening to the crashing surf right outside. You can walk for miles along the beach right from your room. We were fortunate enough to meet some park rangers checking out a sea turtle nest that had hatched days before and watched them rescue a few trapped baby turtles.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. This has been a record year for sea turtle hatchings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Two good things about this motel - it was ocean front and the bed & bath were very clean. However, I've never paid $200 a night at a hotel that has bare light bulbs in the ceilings and no drapes at the windows (just shallow mini blinds). The decor was stuck in the 80's and the old TV a mere 19". There are not many hotels in this area directly on the beach so their rate takes advantage of that. We ate at their restaurant once. The food was average and the wait staff was preoccupied with other locals.

Room Tip: You might be better off renting a house on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadeTreeAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Over the past year we have replaced most of our old tube televisions with new LCD flat screen models, all in the 32 - 40 inch range. I am sorry that you were in one of the rooms that had not been changed over yet. This process should be complete by year end.Had you called the office we would have been happy to try to remedy that for you. I am not aware of any bare lightbulbs but have instructed my house keepers to let me know if they find one. We have a very busy place and sometimes things get overlooked. We actually like our guests to draw our attention to these things so they can be corrected and hopefully not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just came back from a week's stay in one of their townhomes. I was very disappointed at first. I had read reviews that referred to it as 'shabby chic'. That is half right--the shabby part. Nothing chic about it. What turned me off right off the bat was the carpet was disgusting to walk on in bare feet. It felt like a sponge, just grungey. I literally never went barefoot the entire time I was there. I threw a towel down between the bed and the bathroom linoleum so if I had to get up in the middle of the night, I wouldnt have to find flip-flops to go pee. I then covered the sofas with beach towels we brought with us because I didn't want to sit on them after my feeling about the carpet. (If they dont steam clean the carpet, you can assume likewise the sofas). But I really cant say I saw stains or dirt--I was just paranoid at that point. The bathrooms and ktichen were covered in linoleum and yes--they were clean. And as other reviews say, the beds were comfortable--and thankfully I could smell a bleach like clean on the sheets. (I removed the bed spread cover though and never used it once.) Despite being there for 7 days, a maid never entered on room--not once. (We were told upon arrival that if we needed clean linen to bring our dirty back to the office and they would change it out.) Laughably there was a little basket and a note in the townhouse that said "If you liked our maid service, please leave a tip". Needless to say...I didn't. Now for the positive: The townhouse faced due eass\t, the beach was right there, and there was a beautiful full moon for several nights, and beautiful sun rises each morning. Sitting on the balcony, in a rocking chair, and enjoying the sights and the sounds of the beach was lovely. The Shipwreck Grill across the street (owned apparently by the same owner) was great. Nothing to look at in terms of ambience, but great food, ample in portions, and served with unexpected beauty. Will I come back to the Cape Hatteras Motel? No. Back to the area? Likely. But next time I'll keep going and try out Oracoke Island.

Room Tip: Go for beach side--not sound side. And avoid the first floor, you wont have a beach view, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swgapeachintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
I am truly sorry about the damp carpet in your unit. That has been a problem this summer with the excessive humiity(more than normal). When this moist air mixes with the cold air from the airconditioner condensation takes place and the result is damp carpet. We are remedying this situation by replacing all of our carpet with tile or wood as our counter parts Florida and other humid places do. We replaced all the flooring in our oceanfront apartments this spring with tile and the feed back has been very positive. I wish you had said something when you were her so we could have tried to get you another room. As to no housekeeping; none of the motels on the Island offfer daily housekeeping in apartment style units. We learned long ago that people(especially those with children) do not want a housekeeper banging on their door all morning. Fresh towels and anything else you might need are available in the office any time that is convenient for you. I hope you will decide to stay with us again and if you do and things aren't right, please just let us know. Dave Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
10.4 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Property: Cape Hatteras Motel
Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing