We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!!!”

Fatty's Treats & Tours
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Buxton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fatty's treats and tours is an exciting new business on the outer banks! We have 24 flavors of Hershey's ice cream, milkshakes, smoothies, shaved ice, gifts, toys, and our always popular T-shirts with Fatty the seagull! If your looking for a way to burn off those calories or just a fun way to spend the day with the family Fattys is conveniently located on some of the best kayaking grounds on the entire outerbanks! Our tours take you on a trip through time to visit the very spot the English first landed in the new world. There are sting rays, and fish at play in the water, and egrets, pelecians, and heron to watch in the air! Fattys is an experience for everyone of all ages so come out and support locals, and have a great time!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Winston Salem NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Treat!!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I along with our daughter and son-in-law stopped at Fatty's this past May while vacationing at Ocracoke. We took the ferry one day check out Hatteras Island. Since we are all ice cream freaks, we spotted Fatty's and stopped of course. What a treat!!! We had the greatest and freshest ice cream we had found in a long time. We got cones STUFFED with delicious Hersheys ice cream for a very reasonable price. The owner, who is a local guy who grew up there, was very friendly and told us alot about the island, like what was going on locally and the history of the island too. He also told us how he got started in the business. It was very interesting and we enjoyed talking to him very much, We still talk about Fatty's when we think about or go for ice cream! We plan on going back the next time we are in the area on vacation. I hope we can make some time for kyakking(sp).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly, great service and great ice cream. Check it out!!!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Jeff is very polite and he treats you like you are more than family. We have gone for ice cream there for the past two years and this year he was only open from 12-6, because it wasn't the busy time. He had offered on our last night there to stay open for us. What business does that? He also gives great portion sizes and the ice cream is great. there are a lot of great flavors too. You have to try it there. Written by the Carroll's from Buffalo, New York.

Helpful?
Thank jillcarroll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxtonbeach, Owner at Fatty's Treats & Tours, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hey im finally getting up to date on here! Thanks for the review and im glad you were able to make it in on your last night! Fatty's loves cool people like yall and thank you for making Fatty's part of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a 2 year old and 11 year old with us and it was a lot of fun. You meet at 9am out front go out back get your boats and off you go. Was a lot of fun, the water is very shallow and calm so great for little kids. A lot of our group saw sting rays, we missed it. Polarized sunglasses help you see in the water better so you can see him. Mid trip you stop and stand in the water for a history lesson. The guide/owner's brother wrote the most recent history book on it. The store opens at noon, they have Hershey ice cream, hand stirred shakes, and hot dogs right now. They had the last of their kitchen delivered this morning, and will be serving a full menu soon. Would recommend this tour as a must if you are anywhere in HI

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank palittlemidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome sunset adventure”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our first experience kayaking, and Jeff did a great job! He was very knowledgeable about the history of the island, while being incredibly entertaining at the same time. We caught an amazing sunset and had a fantastic time. I wish we had time to sample the ice cream - we had to run to catch our dinner reservation. But, all in all, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend that others try it. Next time, we're going to go for the morning kayak outing.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank uncgrad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“kayak tour”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just took my family of four on the most awesome kayak tour, jeff makes you feel a part of his family I recommend this for anyone visiting the outer banks great adventure plus a great history lesson all at once.reasonable rates

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank rodney012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty's Treats & Tours also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Fatty's Treats & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing