We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More "corner bar" than restaurant”

Pop's Raw Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“More "corner bar" than restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We walked in & looked for the dining room, but there was none. This really is a local bar with a few tables around the perimeter of the room. The seafood was nice & fresh, but the lemon-pepper scallops were over seasoned.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilkworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    107
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pop's Raw Bar is a rare find”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I discovered Pop's last year and found myself looking forward to dinner there for weeks before I arrived in Buxton this year. I ate there every night except maybe Sunday when they were closed. I ordered the spicy steamed shrimp the first night night and every night for a week. No, they did not disappoint. Great horseradish and tomato sauce. Also I can recommend the oysters, raw or steamed, which I also enjoyed every night. Excellent. As good as RI and LA oysters in some ways. As good as the food is, so are the staff and the patrons. This place has a lot of love in it. The kind of love you only find in a home grown, one-of-a-kind place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy seafood”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pop's is more a local bar with tables than a restaurant. They serve mostly beer but have hard liquor too. Whenever we're on Hatteras Island we stop for a meal at Pop's. Their seafood will not disappoint, especially the fried oysters and clams. The menu also offers other seafood dishes, burgers and speciality items (like a flounder plate last time we were there). There is a small deck with a picnic table out front for smokers. The wait staff is riendly and hard working. Very casual. Pleant of parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Killer seafood in a relaxed setting”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was truly impressed with the quality of the food - from the hush puppies to the flounder bits to the fried oysters and the spiced shrimp. Service (Wendy) was excellent and candid - she told us exactly what was local and what wasn't. The place is really a bar, with a few tables around the edges of the room but is always loaded with locals. We frequent coastal Maine, and are very picky about our seafood - this place makes the grade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“eat here you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On our travels to the Hatteras light station we stopped for seafood here. It looked like a hole in the wall kind of place but they serve delicious food here. Their cole slaw and homemade remoulade sauce are outstanding! Husband and I both ordered the bay scallops basket. Small scallops but tasty and their hush puppies were light yet crunchy on the outside. The waitresses are friendly and upbeat. Go there for lunch if you are on that part of the outer banks

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pop's Raw Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Pop's Raw Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing