We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood, Table Service and Friendliness”

Rusty's Surf & Turf
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rusty's Surf and Turf is an eclectic beach restaurant focusing on local sourced fish, seafood, vegetarian and steaks using styles ranging form local to global. If you are looking for fun, interesting and delicious or simple and strait forward, we have something for everyone! Now serving lunch and dinner
Wallkill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Table Service and Friendliness”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were a group of 12 from Ohio and New York and had a very delightful time at Rusty's. I had read a few poor reviews and although everyone is entitled to their opinion, they are very, very wrong. Our group ordered several seafood items and were very pleased. The service was friendly and efficient. Rusty, thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    135
    54
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding fresh seafood”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate at two restaurants while on vacation, and this was my favorite. The homemade desserts are to DIE for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank roseytheriveter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia pa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It is Hatteras folks...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

that is not meant to be a disparging remark. But anyone that has visited here knows that fine dining is not why you come to Hatteras. Now with that being said, the food here is well prepared and fresh. The chef, yes chef, not cook, knows what he is doing in the kitchen.

If you are looking for a good meal anywhere on the island then this place is a recommended try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfarina8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were a bit surprised by the prices but it was indeed worth the little bit more than we had planned to spend. My husband had the fried flounder and I had the fried shrimp. It was the best shrimp I have ever had! The portions were large. The decor was fun and lively. The only thing we didn't like was we were seated near the dining room door and I was kinda scrunched in the corner. There were much better seats available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeedleDee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Forget what it looks like from the outside...The food is excellent...The service was top notch and we would most definitely eat here again...Just plain 'good stuff'...You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty's Surf & Turf also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Rusty's Surf & Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing