We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, ok food”
Review of The Captains Table

The Captains Table
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, ok food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our waitress was top notch, she paid special attention to the 6 children in our party. The hush puppies were killer, scallops were great but the chef's special, a buffalo chicken sandwich, was dry and kind of flavorless. The waitress brought extra fries when a drink spilled on one of the kids meals, asked mom before bringing drink refills for the kids, and was verge engaging with the kids.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    92
    54
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A Cliche Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Looking for something different and exotic as far as seafood? Look elsewhere. The Captains table offers fried oysters and seafood just like any tourist trap. On this night, I tried to order broiled seafood from their "choose 2 for $18" menu. The choices were from 10 items. I took the shrimp and oysters, unfortunately the server said that she didn't recommend broiled oysters because they "can't be served on the half shell". AND,that means? 1) they come from a bucket and 2) they're not fresh.
The service was OK, but the young server seemed over her head. During the "off season", businesses in the Outer Banks have trouble with qualified help.
The decor and ambiance were as clichéd as the fried food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Found this little gem on the way back to Rodanthe from a day out of exploring. Basically we stopped here because I figured with cars in the parking lot, it was a good sign of something decent. They have children's specials which was great - PB&J, baked apples and fries. Great deal for under $5. We adults had the red drum fish special... my first time having it and it was delicious! Service was great - both servers working the floor were super attentive and nice. The restaurant was clean and not too busy so we were seated quickly. I can see this place filling up at night and now I know why. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsCarrie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistantly good food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to go wrong here if you want fresh local sea food. We have dined here for many years, the food and service have always been good. On this visit the restaurant was closing the next day so the menu choices were limited.

Helpful?
Thank Jimnyduacti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunTraveler772
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The sweet tea and hushpuppies were a great start. Delicious! I chose fried shrimp and scallops. I was happy with the options for sides. Yummy coleslaw and wonderful baked potato. The seafood was fried, but not overly greasy. Great flavor.

The chicken tenders for my daughter were huge and had good flavor. I also liked that she received stewed apples along with her fries

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTraveler772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captains Table also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Captains Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing