We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captains Table

The Captains Table
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited in June 2011 with three kids. The hushpuppies were AWESOME!! So good! Atmosphere was definately "southern." meaning it was sweet and nice! We liked Captains table and would go back. :)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank juliet316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    89
    54
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well....not too impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm on the beach. I expect better seafood than we had. It all kind of tasted the same, and our server seemed disinterested all night. Judging by the crowd, plenty of people like this place.
I expected more on the Outer Banks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Place looked promising from outside so we thought we would give it a chance. Pretty casual place. Waiter set up was weird as each waiter could have table in 4 different sides of room. They were certainly running. Our waiter didn't charge for clam chowder which he said was the bottom of the bowl. Price was about right. I made mistake ordering fried scallops. Very small and deep fried. Not what I was expecting. Salad was average and I should have had many beers to make the pain of this place go away. Reasonable price and not a lot of choices for us without driving 30 minutes from rented beach house. Group in my party rates it 4 of the 5 places we went while I have it in 5th place. Have had worse but just looking for better experience on OBX.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gumpster_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big disappointment, worst steamer clams I have ever had!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at the Captain's table this evening at the recommendation of our hotel. I ordered the little neck steamer clams because several other menu items that I wanted were not available. I have enjoyed clams all over the world, and can honestly state these were the worst I have ever sampled. One dozen clams were served dry on a plate of salad greens with a couple of wedges of lemon. The waitress stated that they forgot the drawn butter so she returned with a plastic cup of butter. In short, the clams were so over cooked it was like chewing rubber bands! Surely there are better places to dine in Buxton. Management was unconcerned since I am sure they realized that we are just passing through the area. We have been driving in the OBX for the past week and this was by far my worst meal.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a party of nine on a Friday night- they were able to seat us in about 20 minutes which was better than expected. The restaurant is about what you would expect for the Outer Banks- nothing fancy but lots of old pictures and maps of the area on the walls. We were glad to see hot hushpuppies waiting for us at the table when we were seated. We were not as happy to find that additional hushpuppies cost about $5 per dozen. For something as cheap as hushpuppies it just doesn't make sense to alienate customers by charging for extras. Flounder was not available due to the sea conditions (they get just about everything locally and the boats could not catch flouder due to high seas). The blue fish was better than some we have eaten. The scallops and larger shrimp were very good, as was the cole slaw. The baked potato seemed like it had been sitting around for awhile, but we were able to overlook that. One of the better meals we had during our week at the beach. The service was not very friendly. No reservations accepted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisvillenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captains Table also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Captains Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing