We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hatteras Food - Great Views”
Review of Sandbar & Grille

Sandbar & Grille
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are a casual dining restaurant located on the Pamlico Sound in Buxton. We have been serving lunch and dinner on the Outer Banks for 18 years now, six in Hatteras until Hurricane Isabel took our building away, and then we blew up the road to Buxton for the last 12 years. At this time lunch is served daily 11:30-3, and dinner is served nightly at 5pm. All of our soups are homemade, we serve an assortment of fresh seafood daily, as well as sandwiches, steaks, ribs, and pastas. We have live music on the deck Thursday & Friday nights this summer. Hope to see you there!!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Typical Hatteras Food - Great Views”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Half bar (but remember Dare County is a 'dry' county, so only beer and wine), half restaurant, the upstairs has great views overlooking the Pamlico Sound. Very good, but typical Hatteras seafood fare. Great for families early, or adults hanging out later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbug348, Owner at Sandbar & Grille, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Just wanted to let you know, liquor by the drink was passed in December of 2010, so Hatteras Island has had full bars (if the individual restaurant chose to get the permit) since the beginning of 2011, which we have. I'm sure the hostess gave you a cocktail menu with your dinner menu when you were seated. So you know for next time you're down here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    151
    75
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food, good prices”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ivan was our server and was very good to us making wonderful recommendations and keeping things in order for us.

We had the steamed shrimp, Prime Rib (special on Wednesday night!!), and 1-1/2 pounds of crab legs. Other than the Prime Rib not being the temperature we ordered (ordered it rare and it was at best medium-rare) the food was very good and well worth the price. Would eat there again next time we're in town!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An ok meal after a long day at the cape”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

In an effort to find a few more decent choices for dinner at Cape Hatteras, we thought we'd give the Sandbar a try. It was just ok. Although my tuna steak was very good and fresh and nicely prepared, everything else was just average. Hushpuppies were fried in old oil and the grilled shrimp had a metallic taste - perhaps frozen. Nothing hateful - just ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbug348, Owner at Sandbar & Grille, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I wanted to let you know that we don't serve hushpuppies, so I'm not actually sure if you were talking about us or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Average”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I got the Linguini Clams and it was average. The rest of the group ordered regular seafood items and had decent meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful sunset followed by great food. The Blackened mahi was delicious! The calamari & hot wing appetizers were great as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ObxLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar & Grille also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Sandbar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing