We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Sandbar & Grille

Sandbar & Grille
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are a casual dining restaurant located on the Pamlico Sound in Buxton. We have been serving lunch and dinner on the Outer Banks for 18 years now, six in Hatteras until Hurricane Isabel took our building away, and then we blew up the road to Buxton for the last 12 years. At this time lunch is served daily 11:30-3, and dinner is served nightly at 5pm. All of our soups are homemade, we serve an assortment of fresh seafood daily, as well as sandwiches, steaks, ribs, and pastas. We have live music on the deck Thursday & Friday nights this summer. Hope to see you there!!
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ate here twice during our week vacation. Skip the Prime Rib special night..it was over cooked. Best caesar salad I've ever had..meal portion was huge!!! Good food, great service. All around good choice when in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cakegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    155
    76
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We followed them from Hatteras Village”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We started to go to this restaurant when it first opened in Hatteras Village while we were staying there. When it was destroyed and they relocated to Buxton we traveled from Hatteras to eat there and now that we stay in Salvo, we still drive to Buxton to visit the Sandbar.
We've always enjoyed the food here, particularly the fettuccini with white clam sauce and the filet mignon and strip steak. Prices are reasonable, wines by the glass are a real bargain. While their Hatteras location was a little short on ambiance, the Buxton location has a wonderful view of Pamlico Sound.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bcoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not impressed- The sunset was awesome!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went here for a late dinner and I wasn't impressed at all with the food. I had a chicken sandwich, my child had chicken fingers and hubby had a burger. They said their food was ok but, nothing to write home about. My grilled chicken sandwich was tasteless and the smallest piece of chicken I have ever seen. I might have eaten a quarter of it.

The sunset view was awesome. I would recommend drinks and watch the sunset. The place was packed so, I was expecting really good food. Ended up leaving hungry and disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in Rodanthe and it was well worth the Drive to Buxton for this place. It was exactly what we had wanted in this area for two day but could not find south of the Organ Inlet. . Im not saying there isnt any good restaurants in the area Im just saying maybe not right here so much. lol. The food, the service, everything excellent!! Bonus! if you arrive towards evening you can watch the sunset over the sound!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TessE988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant with a pun in the name”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great place for fried fish! We had the calamarie which was alright. Then we split a fried fish platter which was very good! The view was incredible. We ate right at sun set! The cheesecake was yummy! Chocolate and peanut butter! You cant go wrong!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar & Grille also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Sandbar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing