We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
62
74
43
21
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
74
43
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanobservation towerthe air conditioning unitplace to stayjuice and coffeeshort strollfront desk staff was very friendlydesk clerkpleasant staywalking distanceconvenience storeenjoyed our stayone night stayeasy walk to the beachchecking inputt puttthe outer banks
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 220 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017

The problem with the Southern Beaches in the OBX is that just about every property you come to looks in dire need of a fresh coat of paint. Of course that's mostly a metaphor and Ironically it does not apply to the exterior of this property which actually looks quite good -- it's more of a reference to the fact that these hotels / motels are generally all the same; they look as if they'd compete with an old and tired La Quinta or a spruced up Super 8. New paint will only cover up so much especially when the interior and architectural design is circa 1970's.

The Southern beaches in the Outer Banks are wonderfully rustic but the accommodations, and this includes the Hatteras Island Inn Buxton, are not "glamping" nor remotely close to a similar class hotel on the mainland, they're sort of like Wonder Bread, no nutrients and nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We drove down from Corolla for a one night stay to see the area, and decided on staying here for the night. We are so glad we did! Adorable hotel, clean rooms, and friendly staff. The pool was clean and beach only a short walk down the sandy street from the hotel. You pass about three homes and you are on the sand! Several restaurants and shops are close by. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

We loved staying here!! It was a very short walk to the ocean, and could see it from the second floor balcony. They served juices and coffee in the lobby for breakfast, but there were good places within easy walking distance. The rooms were nice and clean, and roomy. There was a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee machine. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is in a location where you don't have to drive far to lighthouses, ferry for Okracoke Island, Kitty Hawk, and everything else we didn't have time to do! There are some good beaches nearby if you want a change, lots of shops. You can witness sunrise and sunsets there!! We would go back there if we were in the area again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank beachmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

This about says it all. The staff - all of them - were wonderful. Happy and smiling - all the time. Pool was a little TOO warm for my taste since it was so blessed hot out; but, it was clean. Great location in relation to food and the Cape Hatteras State Park. Not a single complaint.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - good because there were no elevators
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1004WEdebrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

The Hatteras Island Inn is clean and located within easy walking distance to the beach. The rooms do not have wi-fi and there is no free breakfast; however, the beds are comfortable and rooms are large. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The exterior could use some maintenance - paint on the room doors and such but one has to account for the harsh environment. My only complaint is that the morning we were due to leave someone was pounding on our door at 8:30am to see if we were still there. I am on vacation, right? Did not appreciate the wake up call.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the north side of the hotel have an ocean view of sorts.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OhioBuckeye826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews