We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit to USA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Burnsville was a great introduction to my first time in USA. I stayed at Carolina Country Motel for nearly 3 weeks and I found it to be an extremely pleasant experience. The rooms are delightful and very clean. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you can sit outside your room and enjoy the surrounds, including the mountains. The fact that the motel is within walking distance to shops and other services made it even more pleasant. Try the huge range of walking trails - a must for the outdoor people. The owners of the motel are knowledge on the area and there is an information centre in Burnsville. A big thank you to Trevor and Maureen for such a wonderful stay in their motel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The single rooms have a kingsize bed which is extremely comfortable. All rooms have flat screen TV...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suzanne744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Carolina Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Carolina Country Inn is the perfect way to experience the joy of Yancy County. Whether you're in the area to cycle, hike, or chase quilts; the Inn makes a great jumping off point. You'll be able to walk through downtown and get inside tips of things to do in the area from the long-time owners. The rooms are reasonably priced and well maintained. Your stay will end with the question, "When can we come back?"

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
6  Thank RailRoad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at the Carolina Country Inn during a trip around North Carolina. The hotel property is very pretty with lots of plants and flowers.

We stayed in a room with two full beds. The beds took up most of the floor space so walking around in the room took some effort not to bump into each other. The beds were comfortable and the small refrigerator and microwave were a bonus.

Our room had a locked door going to connecting room. One night a child on the other side spent some time playing with the door. The next night upon arriving back at the hotel late we could smell that someone had been smoking in the adjoining room's bathroom although there is a sign saying that smoking was not allowed. The venting is such that we could easily smell the smoke. We had to keep the bathroom door closed until it cleared.

If back in the area we would stay there again but only if a King room were available. The room we had was a little small for two of us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Carolina Country Inn is the perfect place for a perfect getaway in Burnsville. The rooms are very clean, quite spacious, and beautifully furnished with every possible modern convenience, yet the atmosphere evokes a simpler, less hectic lifestyle of the 1940's--1960's. Trevor and Maureen are such genial, friendly hosts, and make you feel at home there immediately upon checking in. The landscaping is simply gorgeous around the grounds, and the location is perfect for exploring the many craft shops and restaurants within a very short walk just up the street. I highly recommend the Carolina Country Inn when you visit Burnsville!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yeloporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice, quaint motel in a small town. See photo. Maureen is the best. She was very kind and helpful. The King room was already booked so we took a room with two doubles. It was small but very clean and worked for us for a night. There was no hair dryer provided, but Maureen was quick to respond to my request and insisted on bringing it to me. There is no continental breakfast, but coffee was available and very good. She even had French Vanilla creamer! The room included a small fridge and microwave. Beds were a bit soft. Motel is on main street, but it was quiet for sleeping. Maureen recommended a nice place for dinner in town that happened to be perfect for us, "In The Garden." It was close enough for walking, but we drove. "In the Garden" offered a variety of food to include organic entrees and sides. Dining was offered inside or outside. See photo. Close by was a neat 50's type fountain diner that offered a variety of food served inside or out on the sidewalk. If we would have been there one more night we could have taken in the movie "Casablanca" at the local movie house next door. It was showing for one night. How neat! Wireless is available, but the connection was very poor that night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank surfpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is a fairly basic inexpensive motel in a fairly central location in Burnsville with quite a few shops and restaurants in walking or short driving distance. The rooms are not elaborate but they don't need to be. The price is fair, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and above all the service is good enough to make you feel like you're staying over at your mother's house.
As best as I could tell the woman I spoke with at the front desk was the owner of the motel along with her husband (who I didn't meet).
We were three guys who came in town to hike up to Mount Mitchell in early January and we were looking to stay in one room to minimize cost. She offered us extra blankets and pillows if somebody wanted to sleep on the floor. Since much of the town was shut down due to snow/ice she called around to find a place still open where we could get breakfast, and then gave us directions. Most impressively, she seemed genuinely concerned about our safety on our hiking trip (temps were below zero) and suggested that we be sure to call her once we got back on Monday or else she'd call the park ranger and tell him we might be stranded.
Can you imagine the receptionist at some fancy 5 star hotel offering to do that because they actually cared about your safety?

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Threxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

This place was so beautiful with the snow covered landscape Dec. 18th and 19th Blizzard 09. This place was a blessing from above and the owners treated us like family. We were stranded on I 26 and a stranger saved my children and I from a horrified nightmare by taking us to his beautiful town (Burnville). Everyone I came in contact with in this town treated us wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel at home and safe. The Inn was so comfort, clean, low rates and had just about all you could ask for. I recommend this Inn to anyone who loves peace and quiet or Storybook cottages. I was in a nightmare that turned into a wonderful dream world. I owe the owner and the strangers my life.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhonda43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsville
15.0 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
201 reviews
21.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
133 reviews
11.8 mi away
Albert's Lodge at Mt. Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Country Inn

Address: 600 W Main St, Burnsville, NC 28714-2738
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Burnsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnsville
Price Range: $79 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carolina Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Burnsville
Burnsville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing