We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf in great setting”

Mount Mitchell Golf Club
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Burnsville
Attraction details
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Golf in great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Gorgeous views right in the middle of the mountains and a challenging game of golf. Spectacular views and a great golf course make this one of a kind experience a must for any golfer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WBCThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent place to vacation, Golf course looks beautiful too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came on a family vacation this past July and stayed in one of the rental houses on this golf course. My wife and I really didn't know what to expect since her parents made all the arrangements. The house was absolutely beautiful (3 story, 3 bedroom, garage with ping pong table, & a golf cart to ride around the facilities). After the golf course closes, we were able to walk around the golf cart trail and see the beautiful surroundings. There are two different places where they have gigantic fish that you can feed and watch. We also rode our bikes on the golf cart trail and saw several deer run across the course. During our visit we also made a day trip to nearby Mt Mitchell.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing lodging, food, views, and rate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Seldom do you get a deal on an incredible place that is truly the best. We stayed at the Mount Mitchell Golf Club for the Mount Mitchell hike. Spacious, well equipped, clean 3 bedroom, 3 bath townhouse on the picturesque 18th hole of the course. Friendly staff. No hassles. Excellent food at the restaurant (BBQ buffet one night, menu the next). And the kicker? $100 a night. Put hiking Mount Mitchell on your bucket list and make the golf club your lodging of choice. Would like to return and actually play the course!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

It has been over 20 years since I played this course. It is one of the most beautiful mountain courses i have every played. The course is in better shape now then it was 20 years ago and that is saying something.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must Play!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I played Mt. Mitchell on July 3rd. This golf course is absolutely a Must play. The condition of the course was fantastic with Bent Grass Greens, Fairways and Tee Boxes. Yes, even the tee boxes were in fantastic conditions. The best part of this course is the scenic views!!! Personally, it was so awesome to see a golf shot fly against the Mountain background. We played on a Sunday, so the greens fees for this quality of course was very reasonable. A few things to point out which others should know, Carts are not allowed off the cart paths so there is more walking. The course is surprisingly flat in most parts, so its not a difficult walk. With the beauty of the course, its a very nice walk throughout the round. There were NO bathrooms on the course which for my wife made it difficult. I also heard other golfs mentioning this as well. One other thing, I felt the course could have been marked with 100, 150, and 200 markers in the fairway for yardage. It was a bit difficult figuring out yardage from the cart before walking to your ball. It would have been easier if those markers were in the fairway. Other than these few minor things, I Highly Recommend this course and look forward to our return.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rryman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mitchell Golf Club also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mount Mitchell Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing