We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Setting; Good Food”

Hawtrees Bar and Grill
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Burnsville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tallahassee, Fl
Level Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Setting; Good Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am shocked at the negative reviews I read; my experience could not have been more different. The setting, overlooking the golf course, the river, and mountains is so picturesque and peaceful. Since it was a beautiful evening, dining on the deck was perfect. Passing the intimate bar and well appointed dining rooms on the way outdoors, gave me an idea of the indoor ambience as well. The hostess was cordial and wait staff friendly and informative. The menu is quite diverse, from pulled pork sandwich special to steaks and chops. We began with some outstanding homemade chips dusted with parmesan and spices. I could have made a meal of them alone. My companion chose a shrimp and pasta dish which was a large portion of pasta and fresh, delicious shrimp. I decided on the filet cut sirloin - not something I have encountered before - and it was cooked perfectly med rare as I had asked. It was very flavorful and tender. I have no complaints about service or food. I found it a friendly place that I'll bring guests. I will even consider it for a peaceful solo dinner, given that lovely view. Prices were about what I would expect from a fine dining establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in the mountains of North Carolina!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Cozy restaurant at the foot of Mt. Mitchell with a fantastic view of the golf course the Mt. Mitchell! Had the mountain trout and it was perfectly cooked on a mound of garlic mashed potatoes. Their house specialty martini is quite the show and so good! We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good meal and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Goulash was world class...It was so good I had it two nights in a row. Teo the owner and chef was very hospitable and his food creations are great. April the bartender and Janet the server always have a smile to share and make you feel down home! Come early and watch the sun set over the mountains! One of my favorite areas to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and great service, especially April the bartender.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Teo the owner is a great host and keeps your belly happy! April the bartender makes you feel like you are at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Groldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dining”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

sucked...food was poor and the owner was stumbling drunk on 2 seperate ocasions. beautiful area to visit though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawtrees Bar and Grill also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hawtrees Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing