We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Rustic Mountain Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
233billie...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place was great. We were within an hour of hiking and Asheville. The cabin was clean and the surroundings are serene. There were deer all over the property (until they figured out we had dogs). The tall grasses in the back were loaded with flowers and butterflies. Just for further clarification (because I have occasionally taken work-vacation trips) "internet access" means that you have wi-fi access toward the front of the house which I assume is connected to the owner's access. Google maps works fine to find the place. The owners are extremely responsive by email. If there was one suggestion I could make (and there aren't many because the place is pretty darn terrific)... it is that the mattresses are due for an overhaul. Additionally- 7 people in this cabin would be very tight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: mattresses
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Billie, thank you so much for taking the time to review you stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hate we did not have a opportunity to speak face to face but know we were all busy that week.
The mattress replacement are on our schedule to get done and we appreciate your feedback.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Rick @ Annette King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna K
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a get-away”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Loved Yancey Palace. We stayed for a weekend, hiking in multiple places at the end of June. The cabin is great, tucked away up the mountain. Its rustic, clean, and has the basic amenities.

The view is amazing. At night there are thousands of fireflies in the surrounding trees. It was amazing. And the view of the stars is spectacular.

My kids (8 and 10) had a blast in the creek, as did my dog!

Can't say enough good things about Yancey Palace. The only concern I had was there is no bar on the top bunk. My girls move a lot in their sleep so we didn't use the top. I wish I'd taken paper plates, etc, just because I'm lazy. :-) but there is a dishwasher if you need it.

Thanks so much for such a precious space.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Joanna, thank you so much for taking the time to respond and give us your thoughts and opinion. I will look into installing a railing on the top bunk. Certainly a good idea where little ones are concerned.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Rick @ Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lil' Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Yancey Palace is a cute little cabin in a beautiful, peaceful location. It was homey and comfortable with loads of charm, and super clean as well. Though it had all the modern amenities, I felt like I stepped back in time with all the beautiful antiques inside and what appeared to be the original wood floors. I loved sitting on the back porch looking at the forest, rolling hills and gorgeous long range view and listening to the soothing sound of the little creek flowing across the backyard. It was the perfect place to drink your morning coffee or have a glass of wine in the evening and watch the thousands of fireflies. I could have stayed forever and I can't wait to go back! I've already recommended it to all my friends & family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us you thoughts and opinion. We look forward to seeing you again.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenna_mun...
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely retreate”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful time here! The town of Burnsville is about 30 minutes away through very beautiful country/mountains. There is lots to do if you are willing to drive 30 min - an hour. We did a few nice trails, walked around the town, and went to Linville Falls/Caverns. The cabin is also a wonderful place to just stick around and relax in. Thanks so much to our hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Jenna,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you
enjoyed your stay with us! Come again!
Thanks again,
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The valley view is awesome”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a rustic cabin in a beautiful valley. If you just want some quiet, this is the place to go. This cabin is situated so that you have a 360 degree valley view with no trees obstructing your view. We saw deer and turkey regularly. The cabin is dog friendly. We included some pictures of our stay. The owners are nearby and were very helpful when our van would not start. We would have been stranded, but they let us use the landline to call AAA for a tow and even drove us into town to pickup our van when it was repaired. You can't beat that for customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view and the peaceful morning coffee on the porch
Liked least: There was Wi/Fi, we could text, but no cell service.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Kim,
Thank you for your review! We like to treat people the way we would
like to be treated!
Thanks,
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Z
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to get unplugged”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time at the cabin and will be coming back. I wish we had more time. We have older kids and it was great for them to not be on the phone and talking and being outside and having quality family time together. It was exactly what we were looking for in the weekend. Very relaxing and restful. We had our German Sheppard with us and they LOVED it too. They enjoyed really running without worries. It was awesome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing and very clean, but most of all PEACEFUL
Liked least: That I didnt have longer to stay
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Molly, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Glad your family enjoyed themselves and appreciate your staying with us. Come back anytime and we look forward to seeing you again.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and how comfortable and at home we felt
Liked least: water pressure but hey on a mountain away from it all I kind of expect that
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Janelle, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. So sorry we could not accomodate you on your return visit. Hope that you and family can visit again sometime and again appreciate your taking the time to let us know that your stay worked well for you.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing