We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely retreate”
other travelers have booked this property
Rustic Mountain Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenna_mun...
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely retreate”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful time here! The town of Burnsville is about 30 minutes away through very beautiful country/mountains. There is lots to do if you are willing to drive 30 min - an hour. We did a few nice trails, walked around the town, and went to Linville Falls/Caverns. The cabin is also a wonderful place to just stick around and relax in. Thanks so much to our hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Jenna,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you
enjoyed your stay with us! Come again!
Thanks again,
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The valley view is awesome”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a rustic cabin in a beautiful valley. If you just want some quiet, this is the place to go. This cabin is situated so that you have a 360 degree valley view with no trees obstructing your view. We saw deer and turkey regularly. The cabin is dog friendly. We included some pictures of our stay. The owners are nearby and were very helpful when our van would not start. We would have been stranded, but they let us use the landline to call AAA for a tow and even drove us into town to pickup our van when it was repaired. You can't beat that for customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view and the peaceful morning coffee on the porch
Liked least: There was Wi/Fi, we could text, but no cell service.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Kim,
Thank you for your review! We like to treat people the way we would
like to be treated!
Thanks,
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollyz50
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to get unplugged”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time at the cabin and will be coming back. I wish we had more time. We have older kids and it was great for them to not be on the phone and talking and being outside and having quality family time together. It was exactly what we were looking for in the weekend. Very relaxing and restful. We had our German Sheppard with us and they LOVED it too. They enjoyed really running without worries. It was awesome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing and very clean, but most of all PEACEFUL
Liked least: That I didnt have longer to stay
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Molly, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Glad your family enjoyed themselves and appreciate your staying with us. Come back anytime and we look forward to seeing you again.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and how comfortable and at home we felt
Liked least: water pressure but hey on a mountain away from it all I kind of expect that
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Janelle, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. So sorry we could not accomodate you on your return visit. Hope that you and family can visit again sometime and again appreciate your taking the time to let us know that your stay worked well for you.
Rick & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Russell A
1 review
“A great place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful view, quiet location, nice facilities. Overall good place to relax and enjoy the mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Russell,
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review!
Come again!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee E
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Such a wonderful place to get away! Very clean and cozy. Our 2 daughters 8 and 12 and our dog all were so happy to be able to run free and hike and just be in the outdoors. Very special place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Renee,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the stay you had
at Yancey Palace! Hope to see you again!
Thanks,
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolVero
Zebulon
1 review
“look no further, this is the place”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My mom and I spent 5 wonderful relaxing days here. As soon as we walked in we were impressed at how clean everything was. I'm a bit of a germaphobe so i was happy to see how nice and clean the bathroom was. Rick was out of town, and Annette was there to meet us, she is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet, just genuinely a very sweet lady. She was helpful in telling us about the area and suggesting places to go.

The cabin had everything we needed and we really only had to bring groceries.

we drove up to Asheville and spend a day, it was about a 50 minute ride, but we spent most of our time just relaxing at the cabin which is just what we needed. We highly recommend you stay here. We can't wait to go back. 5 stars aren't enough, I would give it 10 stars if I could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the cabin
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
CarolVero,
We hope you will return! I enjoyed your visit as well!
Thank you for writing this review!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing