We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great view from mountainside, but still close to...”
other travelers have booked this property
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Autumn view of the home from below.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A freshly cleaned deck and new chairs await your arrival.
Autumn view of the home from below.
Floral room bedroom. Queen bed. Walk-in closet
2nd view of floral bedroom
Handmade tiles above the kitchen sink.
Close up of the tiles.
2nd view
Twin bed bedroom aka 'Jungle room' with adjoining bath and no deck access.
3rd view of floral bedroom.
3rd view of the Master/Mistress bedroom
Master/Mistress bedroom with Queen bed. Adjoining bath with jacuzzi tub and separate shower
Kitchen and laundry area.
2nd view of Master/Mistress bedroom
View from the Master/Mistress bedroom. All rooms except the twin bed jungle room have great views!
Barred owls. deer and a variety of birds can be seen. We've even seen a bobcat.
The skies provide added enjoyment.
Winter view of the pond from the deck. Open 12 months a  year.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
canoodle1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view from mountainside, but still close to town”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us (2 adults + 4 kids) stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. Host was responsive before the trip and house was clean on arrival. Plenty of room.
Well-supplied. Large deck with amazing view. Less than 5 minutes to town for a few good restaurants and groceries. A couple hikes within 20 minutes - many many more within, say, an hour. Blue Ridge Parkway less than 40 minutes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you, Aaron, for your kind review of the Yummy Mud Puddle. We're glad you had a good time while here. We look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Our best, Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rohit s
Smyrna, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great View. Amazing Place”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at Yummy Mud Puddle! views from the porch are amazing. Very beautiful nf artistic pottery plates and mugs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the deck and very well managed and as described in pics
Liked least: everything was good. nothing bad
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had an enjoyable weekend at the Yummy Mud Puddle. This is such a fine time to visit the mountains of western North Carolina. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.
Thank you again!
Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2ochild
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, Great plates!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Yummy Mud Puddle was a delightful rental! We loved the views from the back deck, before the rain socked in the mountains. It was a real treat to enjoy eating from the artists pottery plates and mugs. We bought some, and at every use I remark how beautiful they are. The hosts are great. The beds were really firm, not my preference, but other than that, I highly recommend this place. Complete with a nice selection of old school VHS flicks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: back deck view and the pottery all over the house
Liked least: firm mattress
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thank you for your glowing review! We're very pleased you enjoyed your time at the Puddle and in Yancey county. We look forward to your return. Have a great Fall.
Claudia and John of the Yummy Mud Puddle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen w
1 review
“Perfect size for family with a bonus of a beautiful view and artsy decor”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Perfect for our needs. 3 good sized rooms and a large open kitchen/dining/family room area. The views off the deck of the app mountains are wonderful. Fun collection of old school VCR tapes. I wish we could have stayed more than a few days.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you, Glen, for your review! We're thrilled you had a good time while at the Puddle. We hope you'll visit again soon and stay longer. We have an even larger collection of fine films at the main house we are happy to share. Thanks again, Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_A...
Asheville
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hosts, fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For a wonderful get away in the mountains of WNC, with lovely hosts, this is the place to be.
Only about a mile to downtown Burnsville, and close to Asheville, the location is ideal.
Enjoy the pond, mountain views and artwork of both Claudia and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you, Michele, for your glowing review. We enjoyed having you here nearby. We hope to see you again when you need an holiday from the Florida heat. Wishing you a wonderful remainder of summer. Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccricke
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Great respite from the Florida heat!”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a great time at the Yummy Mud Puddle. Everything was as advertised; beautiful view, quiet, close to town, nice visits with John and Claudia. Hope to return, and would definitely recommend for a rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Thank you, Chris and Susan!
We enjoyed our time with you and your friend, Chip. The fish send their appreciation for feeding and admiring them.
Thank you for choosing the Yummy Mud Puddle and supporting our art as well. We look forward to a return visit with you.
Stay cool,
Claudia and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A spectacular view and a house filled with great artwork by the owners”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This place is nestled in the quiet hills of the very Sleepy town of Burnsville. Once you navigate through the endless maze construction cones, where it appears the NCDOT has concentrated on creating absolute chaos and mayhem, you then turn off into a picture perfect town square that time has left alone. Antique / Junque shops, a stylish B&B (Nuwray Inn), a quaint town hall missing it's top (a strange clock tower, looks like they didn't finish the job), an Ice Cream shop, a vintage movie theater with marquee, a playhouse theater, a few gift shops and a real Amish deli (called the Ye Olde Country Store)....along with a few wonderful places to eat and drink. (Most notably The Garden Deli / Snap Dragon Bar & Grill and yes,,,Bubba's Good Eats). When we arrived, several lights were seen in the pitch black darkness and we only had to follow a trail of ducks and signs pointing to the Yummy Mud Puddle house. (The owner created that name many, many years ago .. when he was younger ...no further details though). The house is filled with pottery and art made by John D. Richards and Claudia Dunaway as well as other artists. The view from the massive deck is spectacular..that's all I can say. It was my Wife's Birthday and John and Claudia left a flower arrangement, Ghirardelli chocolates and a homemade birthday card to welcome us. Nice!!! The house was well kept and very comfortable since it was a little chilly after dark (central heating). They had a vast movie collection and TV was offered, but we never had to resort to those forms of amusement ....the view ..ah the view and just relaxing was enough.
Just below the house is John's and Claudia's art galleries and workshops .....John is an avid Marx Brother's fan (I myself am as well) and he is the splitting image of Harpo Marx (my favorite Marx brother). John told us comedic stories while we viewed the galleries and was an instant hit with me and my wife. Then, his better half joined us (Claudia) I now see why this is a place of leisure and enjoyment. They are the best! She took a liking to our 2 Greyhounds we had brought along (it's pet friendly) and our little girl Dash was just smitten with her from all the attention she gave. I highly recommend this place for the perfect getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The oversized deck with a fantastic view of the property and the Black Mountains
Liked least: The main road leading to the place was under construction and there are safety cones everywhere. Hwy 19E
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you, Patrick, for your kind words and thorough review. We enjoyed meeting you and so glad you had a great getaway for your lovely bride's birthday. We hope to see you again at the Puddle soon.
Claudia and John of the Yummy Mud Puddle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing