We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner Special”
Review of The Garden Deli

The Garden Deli
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Garden Deli is hidden under the cool shade of its trademark weeping willow tree on Burnsville's historic Town Square. We offer a lush garden setting for outside dining either under our tree, or under a covered deck 6 months out of the year. We also offer a full-size dining room inside with natural wood walls, hand-made lanterns, and oil paintings of local landscapes. We have a fireplace and a cozy atmosphere during the colder months, as we are open year-round.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had a great steak at Garden Deli! Very tender and cooked just right! A treat for dinner and at a great price as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MHouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 168 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Crab cakes and crous was AWESOME! Memorable presentation. Staff were attentive. Crowded atmosphere but not too bad. Ribs were dry but tasty. Thanks for a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank b_patterson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Recently had lunch here while visiting relatives. Had a short wait-place was full-we found out why. Menu selections were numerous. We decided on the daily special soup and sandwich. The portions were very large and the quality was great. Our waitress was outstanding. I related this to the cashier when we were leaving-she said their wait staff "had been with them a long time"-our waitress for 13 years. What a great experience in this quaint town. We would go out of our way to dine here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jbag44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food just wasn't all that good. The seafood bisque was on the salty side. My Ceasar Salad had iceberg lettuce in it! Seriously. The fish on my husbands sandwich was cooked perfectly but it was a piece of fish on a sad roll. No lettuce, tomato, or any other fixings. No. Not true. I forgot the packet of tartar sauce which was primarily high fructose corn syrup. Unfortunately, pretty atmosphere and really nice people don't make up for so-so food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GYDeli, Manager at The Garden Deli, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Our Garden Caesar Salad is "Made with a blend of fresh hand-torn Romaine, Green Leaf and Iceberg lettuces" as it clearly states in the "Garden Salad Specials" section of our menu. You ordered a Garden Caesar Salad topped with Turkey & Bacon, without dressing. We take pride in all of our salads at Garden Deli. We NEVER USE BAGGED OR PREPARED salad greens. Never have, never will. We use only the freshest, field packed lettuces, locally when available, wash them, and carefully hand tear them ourselves every day. Our salads are fresh and crisp and we sell lots of them. If you have an aversion to iceberg lettuce, next time please order "Romaine only", and we will make it with only Romaine. We are sorry you did not enjoy our soup. If you visit us again, please ask for a replacement. We are considering your complaint about corn syrup being in our Tartar sauce packet. Sweet relish is what has corn syrup in it. Not the number one ingredient. We will try to find sweet relish without corn syrup and with that we will make our own sauce. Finally, your husband could've asked for lettuce, tomato, onions, cheese, etc. and we would have eagerly taken care of his flounder filet. Most people prefer their fish sandwich plain. We serve lettuce and tomato with many of our other sandwiches, just don't want to put it on our flounder filet unless a customer wants it. I feel we could've done a better job communicating what our kitchen could've done for your dietary concerns. Thank you for saying our flounder was cooked "perfectly", and thank you for your compliments about our friendly service. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stopped for lunch, we had soup and sandwiches...very good, good service. My husband had a Club sandwich and I had a BLT. Both were prepared perfectly and very good. Others our party (7 of us) were also very happy with their meals. This restaurant was not open at night when we were there, so could not return for dinner.

1  Thank mbln74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Deli also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Garden Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing