We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape to the Heavens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Mitchell State Park

Mount Mitchell State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The highest mountain in the Black Mountain Range.
Ashevill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Escape to the Heavens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Every time a visitor of mine comes to Asheville I make sure I take them to Mt. Mitchell.

The highest peak, east of the Mississippi River, it gives you a 360 degree view at over 6,000 ft. Don't let the elevation scare you from going. It is easily located off of the Blue Ridge Parkway, about 30 miles north of Asheville. This is a great drive with awesome views, photo opportunities, and tunnels. The elevation of Asheville is around 2100 feet so you will be climbing but it is worth the views around every corner - there are plenty of pull offs for photo taking.

Mt. Mitchell is accessed right off the Parkway and you can't miss it. The drive to the peak is easy and paved and very scenic. Once at the top there is a concession stand, restrooms, gift shop, and a little museum talking about the area. There is about a 200 ft walkway to the top of the summit, all paved and maintained. Of course their are more hiking trails in the area for the avid hikers but most people should have no problem walking to the summit. (They do offer a golf cart ride to the top during business hours by the park rangers for those who are disabled or can't climb the last 200 feet.) The observation deck is huge and is relatively new and offers beautiful views of Western North Carolina. There are plenty of picnic areas at the top of the summit and I would encourage you to take your own picnic and enjoy the view, the air, and the quietness of the mountain.

Please note that the weather in the mountains is as predictable as the weatherman, lol. Always bring a sweater as the temperature can be 10-20 degrees cooler than in Asheville. Remember the weather can change from mountain top to mountain top so be aware it can be raining in Asheville and sunny at Mt. Mitchell! I would go regardless of the weather because the beauty of the mountains even under cloudy skies is worth the trip!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rustybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    97
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff. Weather...not so much.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Unfortunately, having only two days in Asheville, we didn't have much choice on picking a great weather day. Cloudy in town, but fogged in on the hike. We took the Old Mitchell trail, which was very nice, although (like previous TA reviews have noted) the trail intermingles with vehicle traffic on the main road. Meh. We can still say we hiked to the summit of the "highest mountain east of the Mississippi RIver!" Our kids stood tall on the benches, proclaiming they were each the tallest person east of the Mississippi River. Well, if you don't have young kids, it probably ain't so funny, but these are the cheesy moments that make life fun for some of us, right? The drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway must be beautiful, but all I can tell you is driving through clouds as thick as pea soup is quite a unique experience. If you're going anytime soon, know that the concession stand has no power, due to a recent lightning strike - bring cash!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KidRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best view ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We climbed all 5.6 miles up the mountain. It was a daunting but well worth it feat! What a stunning view from the top! A must-see for all Asheville visitors.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great View, provided the weather is clear.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We visit this venue a couple of times a year from our nearby mountain, vacation rental. It's a "must see" for visiting friends and relatives.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterButzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view is not as nice as it used to be - good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The day we went turned off cool and rainy. (temp in the low 50's... on 7/31!) They have torn down the old observation tower, and replaced it with short platform. The view cannot be nearly as good as it used to be, but we couldn't tell because of the rain/clouds. I guess in the name of progress, they made the site handicap-accessible, and less enjoyable for everyone. We did eat lunch at the restaurant part-way up the mountain. Don't be scared away by the "Fine Dining" sign. The food (on the lunch menu) was mostly soup, sandwich, and salad fare, and reasonably priced, especially considering you are miles away from any other restaurant! The grilled cheese sandwich and vegetable-beef soup was excellent, and just what we needed on a cold, rainy, July day! Only drawback was that service was terribly slow, so bad that management really needs to take some action to improve it. Employees were friendly, just way too slow!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepItCheapPls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mitchell State Park also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mount Mitchell State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing