We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably cold for July.”

Mount Mitchell State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The highest mountain in the Black Mountain Range.
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unbelievably cold for July.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We enjoyed our trip in late July but I should have believed my in-laws when they mentioned how cold it would be up there. We spent a few days staying in Burnsville in a rental house on the golf course and very much enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. One of our days we visited this park and it was so cold. I'm glad I wasn't the only one in our party who didn't think to bring a hoodie in the summer. :-) My brother and sister in law and myself had to buy matching hoodies from the gift shop. It made for a funny story. Even on a cloudy/rainy day, there were still incredible views. On a clear day, it most likely wouldn't have been as cold, but I would suggest bringing some warm clothes just in case.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    104
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
575 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Beautiful day at Mt. Mitchell -- But Parkway Closed 'til Spring”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Over Thanksgiving we took family/friends to see the highest peak in the East. The weather was unseasonably warm at Mt. Mitchell for this time of year, clear and sunny and in the low 40s. Great views and a pleasant day to walk around and hike to the top for those who are up to it.

The snack bar and bathrooms were closed for the season.

Note, however, that the Blue Ridge Parkway was closed from near East Asheville to just south of the entrance road to Mt. Mitchell State Park. A section was closed temporarily due to ice, I believe, but part of it was closed for slide stabilization and reconstruction. This closure between Mount Mitchell State Park at NC Highway 128 (BRP Milepost 355.3) to Laurel Knob overlook (BRP Milepost 359.8) will continue until mid April 2013, according to the N.C. Division of Parks and Recreation.

So, to get from Asheville to Mt. Mitchell instead of driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and back (a trip of little over two hours roundtrip) we had to detour on I-40 across Old Fort Mountain to Marion and then up 221/226 and NC 80 to the Parkway, then driving south on the Parkway for 10 or 11 miles to the Mitchell entrance, and after visiting we returned to Asheville via Burnsville on U.S. Hwy. 19 and then on I-26, a total trip of near five hours. Nice drive, but much longer than we had anticipated. Note also that the Parkway detour was only partially marked with detour signs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Find a clear day to visit”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We found a clear early Autumn Saturday afternoon to drive to the summit and take the sort walk to the top. It's an easy walk to observation deck and we even saw park personnel providing golf cart lifts to some elderly tourists. We had had a great view, but I understand that many days are too cloudy to see much.

Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a nice place to visit. If you want to get to the "Top of the East" and drive most of the way. Even small children can summit. Well thought out and clean.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LosSargentos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The last time I was up on Mount Mitchell was when I was a teenager one summer on a family vacation, and wanted to stop by again. This time, I went in the fall. The surrounding lowlands were lit up with color and one could see for miles from the view on top.

In any case though, regardless of the time of year, be prepared for the temperature to be about 15 - 20 degrees cooler than the surrounding lowlands then added a 20+ MPH windchill on top of that. It was probably in the 40's in October and the wind was whipping, so it felt like I was freezing. Fortunately, there's a place that sells coffee for cheap nearby, and there's a museum that offers a break from the cold if you need it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank theonemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mitchell State Park also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina Mountains, NC
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mount Mitchell State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing