We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, musty old motel......with a great pool area.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Burlington
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Noisy, musty old motel......with a great pool area.....”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Mid April, and 80 degrees outside...the pool was not yet open. That was the first major disappointment upon arrival. The second? After phoning 3 times well ahead of our stay, to insure that our room would be in the most quiet location of the motel...the request was not granted. This was inexcusable. The noise from both busy Huffman Road and the Interstate behind was really loud. The walls here are paper thin , so you hear your neighbors -including slamming doors from inconsiderate guests. The light pouring in from a wide gap at the bottom of the door insures a dreadful night's sleep.I smelled cigarette smoke at 4:00 a.m..The A/C unit of course is noisy with bright lights on top of the panel. The mattress felt old and the pillows uncomfortable. On the plus side: The water pressure was very good. The outdoor courtyard is lovely - but they allow smoking out there....so it was hard to enjoy breakfast. The breakfast is better than average for a motel of this caliber. The eggs were real, and the variety was good. There was real half and half for the coffee - and the coffee was good. That was a huge surprise. But can I recommend this place? Not really. Unless they tear down the old building and rebuild form scratch, with sound-proofing and windows that open so the rooms don't smell so musty... leaving the courtyard in the middle untouched. But they should have a large non-smoking area out there. We only paid $88.00 plus tax but it still did not make it worth losing a night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you ask for C or D wing, the road noise might not be as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melisande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    127
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
213
58
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a very nice property. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The cable is very good. Very nice place to stay. The hotel is convenient to everything

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is not particularly impressive when you pull up to it but the lobby is very nice and our room was nice also. It was a great value for the money and close to Elon University which was our reason for visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting or touring Elon University. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have an Elon discount and it is very convenient to the University. Burlington has grown tremendously during the time we have been visiting there and this hotel is convenient to shopping, eating and highways without being too difficult to access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ehra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on several occasions for work. Rooms were clean, service was good and hot breakfast was a plus. Would recommend to anyone for business travel or personal travel. Hotel has a restaurant and bar. I did not eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was a perfect hotel for our visit to Elon University. It was clean, spacious, and well decorated, and it was only a few minutes from Elon. We experienced some road noise on our first night, but this was the only minor problem with our stay (we didn't even notice any road noise on our second night). We had a nice hot buffet breakfast on Sunday morning, and the staff helped us use the computer station to print out our boarding passes for our return flight. We will definitely stay here again if our daughter attends Elon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dionne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Of all Best Western Hotels, whomever owns this one know what they're doing. Except for some minor irritations, (lack of hi-tech plug-ins), this is the best hotel deal I've experienced. In-house restaurant is five star quality including service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 677claudec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Burlington Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Burlington
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Burlington

Property: Best Western Plus Burlington
Address: 770 Huffman Mill Road, PO Box 850, Burlington, NC 27215-5125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burlington Hotel Burlington
Burlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing