We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pages of history come alive”

Alamance Battleground State Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Burlington
Attraction details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The pages of history come alive”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited the historic battleground of the Battle of Alamance which took place in 1771. My fourth g. grandfather was one of the Regulators who stood against the corruption and unfair taxation of Governor Tyron. We had a great time and the curators were very helpful. We saw a movie depicting the battle, toured a cabin from the 1800's and took a lot of photos. Burlington, N.C. is a very beautiful area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is amazing”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love to visit here, the video/slide presentation is very informative, they have re-enactors on the site, and when they have the battle re-enaction weekend it is great watching the battle, the cannons and the army camp. TRY to go yearly, seldom miss it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
802 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Nice Film at visitor's center”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The battlefield itself is a nice walk on a sunny day, but there isn't that much to see. But the history is interesting, and it's worth learning a bit about this relatively obscure part of American history. Very nice visitor's center staff too. I'd certainly drive 25 miles out of my way for this site, but not much more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historically interesting”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Although it is a small area it was nicely done & gave us new insight to the history of the local area

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The spark that didn't ignite the revolution”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I never heard of Alamance before travelling in North Carolina. This battle preceded the independence war by 4 years, and though it was rooted in the causes that ignited the tea party in Boston a few years later, this one did not.
It was all about taxes and injustices by the governor. Why this remained an obscure event - even my B&B hosts in Kittyhawk the night before had no clue about this battle - is baffling. Perhaps because a rural call to arms couldn't have the same effect it had in the bog cities. Perhaps it was too early to spread.
The battleground keepers don't speculate. But they give a good tour and explanation of the battle, the stance and the sorry aftermath.
It's a pity the grounds weren't preserved, so after the very good video presentation you have to go out and guess at the lines of scrimmage and where the troops stood.
But the area is lovely, especially in spring and fall, the state park staff friendly and patient and the peek into pre-independence war dynamics illuminating. Anyone who thinks the revolution was inevitable and unstoppable should stop by and learn about some pretty courageous people who tried valiantly and failed magnificently.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamance Battleground State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Alamance Battleground State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing