We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fryemont Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$90
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Lodging(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lloyds on the River Country Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$95
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview at Fontana(Bryson City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
195
83
23
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
83
23
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribhuge fireplacetroutfront porchhistoric lodgebalcony suiteincluded in the room raterocking chairsthe main lodgedining room isbrown familystep back in timeno air conditioningrustic charmboard gameslamb shankplaying games
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 318 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We visited the Fryemont Inn October 29 and stayed one night. We were intriqued by the fact that the lodge has been preserved to reflect life as it was back in 1930--like stepping back in time.

At the time of booking we weren't sure of the weather conditions and therefore opted to book accommodations with A/C and use of gas fireplace if needed. We also enjoy keeping up with current events in the news and wanted the luxury of a TV in the room that we could control. We paid significantly more for this convenience.

Although we thoroughly enjoyed our one night visit including the dining experience, we were a little disappointed that the furnishings in the suites located adjacent to the lodge did not reflect the same "mountain retreat" atmosphere. They were quite eclectic; stepping into a room with stark white walls was quite a contrast to the warm wood of the lodge; however, the balcony with rockers was larg and quiet nice.

We have every intention of returning; however, in order to get the complete experience, we think we will opt for a little less modern complete with chestnut wood paneled walled rooms with no TV, no AC and wonderful pocket windows that can be opened to take in the fresh mountain air!

We visited the bar/lounge located just behind the large fireplace in the dining room for cocktails prior to dining. What a great place for meeting new people! It reminded us of the supper clubs we enjoy in the north.

Dinner was a delightful experience. To start with, our server was very friendly and made us feel quite welcome. The prime rib was cooked to perfection and the pecan crusted rainbow trout was delicious! The dinner salads were fresh and crisp and the side dishes were tasty.

We had a concern about breakfast because we had booked a trip on the 9 o'clock train; however, no need to worry. The dining room opened at 8 AM and we were able to order what we wanted from the menu (not necessarily the Express) and had plenty of time to enjoy it and still catch the train on time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livinmydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My husband and I discussed not submitting a review for the Fryemont because we wanted to keep it our little secret. We found the Inn last year for a getaway. We went back this year and will return next year, and as often as possible. If you're craving excitement, come see us in Myrtle Beach, SC. If you need to get away from a stressful job to a natural paradise in a quiet, laid back hamlet in NC, then visit the Fryemont Inn. Your "room" rate includes full breakfast and dinner at the Inn's restaurant which is quaint, comfortable and the food is delicious. This is heaven on earth... just don't tell anyone else about it and we'll keep it our little secret!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spiritedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

This was our second trip to the Fryemont, and we hope to return many more times. Bryson City is a great destination for those seeking outdoor activities, just relaxing, or doing a little of both. The Frymont is a lovely, quaint old inn built in the twenties. The inn and restaurant are very clean. Breakfast and dinner are included with the room price, and guests order from a varied menu. The entire staff is friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and eager to assist.

It's hard to decide what part of the Fryemont experience is best. Rocking chairs on the big front porch, the cozy fireplace in the great room, wine in the bar before dinner, the close proximity to the Deep Creek (GSM Park) walking trails, and, of course, Pumpkin the Cat. This peaceful and restful experience is one to take back home, recollect, and enjoy many times until next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Labor Day 15 years ago, our friends invited us to come to the Fryemont. They had been coming for about 8 years prior and since our kids were the same age, we went along. This place is a treasure. We love the history, the nooks and crannies, the simplicity of staying in a place where you just do what you want to do, and of course, as the kids will always remember THE FOOD! I even had to buy the Fryemont Inn cookbook, but I'll never be able to make Mushroom Business like they do. Let's just say the trout, steaks, side dishes, and the Pancakes are to die for. And hot chocolate (complete with a bit of whipped cream). I can't forget the bar either for a bit of liquid refreshment before dinner.

Over the years we've enjoyed the Fireman's Fair and competed in the annual Labor Day 5 K run (we even have the medals to prove it!), visits downtown to the shops and to see Elizabeth Ellison and her husband George. Elizabeth's watercolors decorate the inn, and one of her pieces now decorates my house.

We've stayed in the Old Inn part (open the windows and let the breezes in!) and in the cottages. Sure the cottages have all the amenities, but there is something about the upstairs corner room in the back. Small, quiet, cross breezes..... And the front porch...how many times we sat outside, reading, talking, having a glass of wine, meeting the other folks. Yes, the rooms can be noisy, but remember, it was an Inn built over 80 years ago. That's what I like and what gives me that sense of coziness and place when we visit.

If you are the hard to please type, if you equate old with "run down", if you don't like people, if sharing good food family style is not for you or if you have a desperate need to be catered to every step of the way, the Fryemont is not going to be your cup of tea.

BUT, if you are looking for a place to get away where it is quiet, where great hiking trails are close by, where you can ride the railroad, raft or kayak a little white water, bike the trails of Tsali, run the course laid out around the cemetery by the church on the hill, canoe the lake, or just sit out on that porch and rock, where you can forget having to get dressed up, check your Blackberry or put on your "game face" this is it.

It's as honest a place as you would ever find. A family affair too, and after 15 years we do feel like family. The Browns (all of them) have made this a treasure, along with everyone who works there: Carol, Amanda, Molly, Sarge and many others who we have come to know over the years.

I'm sure our kids (finishing college) will bring their kids here when they have families. It wouldn't be Labor Day without the Fryemont. I just wish Labor Day came once a month!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineCoonMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We just happened upon the Fryemont when my wife and I were travelling through the Smoky Mountains in our sports car. We were originally only going to stay one night in Bryson City, but we wound up loving the Fryemont and Bryson City so much that we stayed 4 nights! The food was tremendous, and the Brown's with all of their staff made us feel important to them. We will be going back and telling all of our friends and family about it too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DSlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews