We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great blast from the past”
Review of Fryemont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fryemont Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved the charm of the room, the fresh mountain breeze, and the sunset views from the rocking chairs in the porch! The evening meal, included with the room rate, was amazing! I had the pecan trout, my DH had prime rib plus wonderful sides, soup, salad, and cobbler for dessert! The next morning we were treated to another wonderful, order from a menu breakfast. The whole experience was welcoming and relaxing...puzzles set out to work, board games and books available . We didn't swim but the huge pool looked inviting as well. We came as a couple, but would love to come back with the whole family.

Room Tip: We loved our room in the main old part of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasQueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

The building was not handicap friendly - quite old, no AC, no elevator, no TV (they do tell you about this prior to booking) rooms did have a certain rustic charm - what made the experience great was the staff & guests. Suggestion, do not book a cabin - you will not have the camaraderie of sitting & chatting on the porch that made the experience memorable. Food - first dinner was great - trout almondine with some tasty "down home" side dishes. Second dinner was not edible - we ordered trout again (prepared differently) - it was mealy, overcooked & the sides were a poor afterthought. Waitress was not concerned (or focused) & brought what she thought we wanted rather than what we ordered. Breakfast was great each day. Lean this up against $160.00 a night & found it to be an odd mix of strong & weak.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digger309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been visiting the Fryemont Inn every year since 1996. I have watched the Brown family age. The food is outstanding. The rooms are a rich experience of going back in the past to a time when life was simpler. I visit the Inn with several friends each year, so we enjoy playing pool, card games and scrabble. The Inn is located so close to many hiking trails and other entertainment.

Room Tip: I personally like the rooms on the back part of the Inn. They face a beautiful, quiet wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our 30th year at Frymont inn. It gets better every year what a wonderful place to go rest in the mountains. The staff is always helpful with anything we want the food is unbelievable and home-cooked with a full menu

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fujello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've been eating and staying at Fryemont for several years, having discovered it through biker friends and publications. Bikers, you say? Well I've been a biker for many decades and I've come to sort them into two groups. The first group, mid-life crisis victims into Viagra and prize-brides, don't stay at the Fryemont. The other group, bikers who are retired fire fighters, school teachers and non-profit management folks... love the Fryemont and this latter group got me in touch with the Fryemont and the Brown family... who have the wisdom to keep rooms in the lodge tv and wi-fi free... forcing you to join the rest of the friendly, civil folks on the porch who love the Fryemont and come back year after year. For these folks..as one of them said... the Fryemont is "camp with gin.

Room Tip: rooms in the lodge downstairs on the hall leading to the pool are nice. If you've just got to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My extended family gathered at the Fryemont to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. We were 6 adults, 2 teenagers and 3 kids. We rented out the entire Stone Cottage where we enjoyed its wonderful front porch all to ourselves. Everyone had enough privacy and yet we had plenty of common spaces for being together, playing games and visiting. Monica was wonderful. She helped us to plan some special touches for a celebration dinner in the dining hall on one of our evenings. The meals were wonderful with gracious portions. Family style breakfast was a big hit! We spent time checking out some of the great new local businesses (an artist co-op, neat clothing stores, book store) and spent one day at Deep Creek tubing and hiking. We enjoyed the pool each day. Perfect for a long weekend. The laid-back vibe and the surrounding natural beauty made for a perfect, low-key family get-together. Very kid friendly!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Here's the deal: A must stay place if you are looking for an alternative to a hotel room and a meal out of a brown bag. The beauty of this place, is the owners have kept it as it appeared when it was built at least 85 years ago or so. This is a place your grandparents would have visited and stayed two weeks at a time. The rooms are spartan, but large, and comfortable. The bathroom had a clawfoot tub and surround shower curtain. They leave you bath salts for soaking. The rooms are not with AC, but we were here in August and used the blankets at night.It was never warm during the day. The dining room is a huge post and beam facility and white table cloths for dinner. A huge fire place and a very nice full bar is attached to the dining room. The swimming pool is very large ( at least twice the size of a Hampton Inn and is 8 feet deep). The pool sits away from the lodge and you feel as if you are in a private oasis. The main lodge area has Stickley style leather furniture, tons of board games, and a rocky chair porch. We never felt crowded and I believe the inn was full! The meals are modified American, ie, you get supper and breakfast with the room fee, less tips. The food was awesome, you pick from the menu any item for a 4 course meal, the menu was very extensive and the service was fast. Our kids, 9 and 12 had an awesome time, even without TV! They wanted to stay. Tons to do in the area.

My input to the owners: Great job! you could enhance it a bit at little expense by having actual coffee mugs, instead of paper cups in the lodge area...that cheapens it a bit and you are a better place than this! Also, the bathroom curtains could be update or changed a little more frequently, they weren't too bad, but a bit yellowed and some mildew spots seen. Also, towels at pool or a table of towels outside the lodge on a sunny day would be easy to do and enhance the customer experience at little cost. You might even have a wait staff person take orders for drinks in the evening from the porch, lobby area-- would be a touch of class that people would love being doted on, and would probably increase your bottom dollar significantly! Keep up the good work! I can tell your lodge has a life of its on and you have done a great job maintaining it and allowing us to live the days of 1930-1940 like we were time travelers! Anyone with kids must experience this place. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for your seating time for a meal when you reserve your room so you get first choice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Folkestone Inn
Folkestone Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#8 of 23 in Bryson City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fryemont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fryemont Inn

Address: PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713-0459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: $75 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quiet village of Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Fryemont Inn offers you secluded comfort and excellent dining, warm fireplaces and scenic vistas. The beautiful bark-covered building was built in 1923 and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Historic Inn and Dining Room are open mid-April through November. The Fireplace Suites and Cabin are open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fryemont Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing