We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul reviving.”
Review of Fryemont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fryemont Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Soul reviving.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were a group of girlfriends who used the inn for our annual reunion. The larger rooms allowed us to stay together with plenty of space. The front porch rocking chairs were perfect for unwinding and reconnecting. The mountain surroundings were a bonus. I was most impressed, though, by the amount, quality, and variety of the two meals included daily in the room rental. The inn is rustic but it was perfect for us

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    75
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
135
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For many years, spring and fall days have drawn us to Fryemont Inn where we always enjoy a relaxing get away! It doesn't get any better than being in the lobby in front of the glow of the fireplace with a good book or enjoying delightful conversation with other guests. And for perfect relaxation, the view of the mountains from the rocking chair porch can't be beat! Breakfast and Dinner meals are included with the accomodations with the offerings being varied, plentiful and delicious! Rooms are comfy and spacious and after a good night's rest you're ready to enjoy the offerings of the area....or just hang out at the Inn! It's a great place to be where the entire staff aims to please!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mcarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've traveled from Georgia to the Fryemont throughout the year for many years and still love it as much as we ever have. We have a daughter in law school in France who is married to a French man from the Champagne district. The one thing they miss about the US is the Fryemont. The owners and their staff are always friendly and take care of us as though we were family. We love sitting in the bar, relaxing before our meal, which is consistently delicious! Can't wait to get back in August!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent two nights at the Inn for our visit to the Great Smoky Mountains. Inn was 50 years old but very clean. Rooms were large. Large fireplaces and we needed the fires. Staff was friendly. Could not drink water from the sinks because of the old piping. Breakfast and dinner served. Food was plain but plentiful.

Room Tip: Need to define the number of beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 553EOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If an R&R getaway to the Great Smokey Mountains is what's desired, then Fryemonte Inn is the perfect place to choose! It's listed on the Register of Historic Places, built in 1923, and because of the listing, major architectural changes are against the rules. No AC, phones, TV in the simply furnished, spotlessly clean rooms in the Inn, and a big country breakfast and dinner (order from a menu) are included in the price for all accommodations during the three seasons of the year. The food is well prepared with a definite Southern spin (country ham, yes, but also several steak and chicken choices. Rainbow trout rules, of course......we're in the Smokies). It's cheerfully served by a loyal staff, several who have worked there many years. It is rustic. New or luxurious furnishings aren't at this hotel. In addition to the inn, other options on property such as cabins and lodges of various sizes and most of those have AC, TV, no phones. The Inn provides huge public rooms with fireplaces, rocking chair porches with amazing mountain views, all which contribute to the sociable ambience of the place. On the downside, I was in the bottom of the 2 level balcony suites, and could hear voices and every step taken by those occupying the top level. Also, I would like being given the option of American vs. European plan for meals, and no credit is extended if one chooses not to have a meal there. Of course, there's no room service. And yes, we will all go back for another visit.........soon!!

Room Tip: There are steps,........not many but enough to concern one who's really handicap challenged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just love this place as do several of our good friends. The first time we went we were there for our anniversary weekend. I was completely charmed by everything about it from the "oldness" to Punkin the cat who has to make sure that all rooms are ready for guests. The price includes dinner and breakfast. The food was delicious. Sue and Carol are the two servers who helped make our stay that much more pleasant. I love the fact that there are no TV's or radios in the room and that can make things real interesting.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecatsmeow98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan AL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been going to Fryemont Inn for Many years. It is celebrating it's 90th anniversary this year. The lodge was built by a lumber baron and still has the rustic atmosphere. The rooms in the lodge are big with one or two queen or king size beds. Many have the big claw foot tubs in the baths.
There is a huge fireplace in the lobby with lots of seating places. Usually a puzzle waiting to be worked on the table. A magnificent long front porch with rockers where you can sit and enjoy the view of the Smoky Mt's.
Included in your price you also receive a wonderful breakfast menu to order from and the dinners are great. Order as much or as little as you wish. The prime rib is the best to be found anywhere.
They are open from late April until Thanksgiving. They also have cabins and balcony suites available on the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_Dinkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.9 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverbend Lodging
Riverbend Lodging
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
33 reviews
7.7 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fryemont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fryemont Inn

Property: Fryemont Inn
Address: PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713-0459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quiet village of Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Fryemont Inn offers you secluded comfort and excellent dining, warm fireplaces and scenic vistas. The beautiful bark-covered building was built in 1923 and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Historic Inn and Dining Room are open mid-April through November. The Fireplace Suites and Cabin are open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fryemont Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing