We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B in the Smokies.”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is a 15-minute walk from an entrance to Smoky Mountain National Park. The Innkeepers were very nice, and we had all the amenities we wanted. My partner and I took along my mom, and she was thrilled with the stay. This B&B was our splurge on our trip to North Carolina, and worth it! We were there two mornings; the breakfast the first morning was so elegant I saw one lodger taking a picture of his dish.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarefootKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2009

Great location for the southern portion of the the Great Smoky Mountains. The owners and staff were amazingly dedicated to making everything as perfect as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintmartinNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

My wife and I went to the Folkestone Inn to celebrate our 5th year anniversary. Steve and Eva ( The innkeepers ) were wonderful. Pam was a great hostess. They went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. My wife loves strawberry shortcake. Steve and Eva, were nice enough, to make sure she had it during one of our breakfast meals. It really made my wife feel special. It was a very quiet place, nestled in the country. The inn was beautiful and the room was spectacular. We enjoyed our daily bubble baths. It was easy to see, why they are rated #1 on tripvisor. If we go back to Bryson City, there is no question where we will stay. Thank you for all the personal touches you provided during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuttyKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

A wonderfully relaxing and friendly 3 night stay at the Inn run by Steve and Eva. Gourmet breakfasts that sustained us through long day hikes in The Smokies. A cosy themed bed room and a birder's paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Lovely B&B adjacent to Smokey Mountains Park Deep Creek Entrance. Walking distance to park entrance. Nestled in valley with nice view of surrounding mountains. Staff was very friendly and efficient. (especially Pam) Super breakfast! Themed rooms quite eclectic. Very comfortable. New innkeeper (only owner for 3 weeks) We hope the atmosphere, etc. remains the same. Totally look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutman1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Steve & Eva are the owners / innkeepers of Folkestone Inn. I took my Mom here on a Mystery Trip to experience her first B&B. It could not have been any better!!! The cleanliness, friendliness, and courtesy of the staff made her stay (and mine) a memorable experience for years to come. This couple loves people and went out of their way to see that everyone felt right at home. The B&B is located just outside the Smokies Deep Creek Park which is perfect for hiking or walking off the wonderful breakfast they serve. The relaxing atmosphere and view of the Smokies is awesome. This was my first trip, but won't be my last!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelbud08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed at the Folkestone Inn this past summer. It was the highlight of our trip to NC. The Inn itself is well located in the Smoky Mountains, convenient for hiking and rock hounding. It is tastefully and charmingly decorated. Breakfast was superb. The innkeeper was delightful and full of worldwide travel ideas--she even gave us an itinerary for travel to Alaska. It was a stay that will never be forgotten as the hospitality will be forever in our memory. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
9.2 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#5 of 23 in Bryson City
217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: $132 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing