We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Top Shelf B&B... We Loved This Place !!!”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My Bride and I just returned from Folkstone inn where we spent 4 nights celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and I must say all the 5 star ratings I read about on Trip Advisor before staying at such a wonderful place are well deserved.
The Home itself is not only immaculate but beautifully decorated and every room emits a warm, welcome homey feeling, The gourmet breakfast exceeded our expectations and made you excited to get out of bed in the morning! From the owners, the Chef, kitchen help down to the Gardner treat you like a special member of their family. There are many relaxing and fun things to do in the immediate area to please everyone from young to senior citizen. We absolutely recommend this second to none Bed & breakfast. We are already referring our Friends and plan on going back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ccaetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Folkestone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

As a place to take a quiet, relaxing weekend, the Folkestone Inn had everything I wanted: friendly innkeepers and staff, beautiful balcony room with a comfortable bed, great breakfast, relaxing setting, and so many little amenities it's impossible to mention them all. It's a quick walk to some easy trails, and enough of them to keep me occupied when not napping or sitting on the balcony. Thanks for the perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jpthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My visit at the Folkestone Inn was absolutely delightful! The innkeepers were gracious and always more than willing to assist in making hiking, shopping and dining recommendations. The beautifully, canopying trees and gardens welcomed me each time I entered the Folkestone’s driveway. Throughout my stay, I thoroughly enjoyed hiking in the national park (which is within walking distance from the inn), rafting and shopping. But, the peacefulness and coziness of the Folkestone made me want to get back to relax with my book and a handful of their freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank baronsmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Folkestone Inn recently as part of a anniversary trip to the NC mountains.
The Inn is lovely, quiet, peaceful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and they catered to our dietary needs/wishes.
They have a library of books (hikes, waterfalls, Mt. info, etc) as well as a folder of local info. in the room. They also had menus from local restaurants in the parlor.
All the staff we came in contact with were extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mac'sMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay over Memorial Day weekend. The Inn was extremely clean, cozy and charming. The food was excellent, healthy and organic. Owners and staff were very friendly. The Inn was 1/4 mile from the Great Smoky Mt. National Park - very convenient to town as well. Highly recommended. Sincerely, The Thompsons

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Thank ChristineTCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay. The inn is very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are good. There are plenty of places on the grounds to sit and relax, even a hammock! We just wish that breakfast had been served earlier as this kept us from starting our day hikes till later than we would have liked. Despite that, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wish2okc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My Husband and I booked the Valentine Package and were NOT disappointed! It was FANTASTIC! From the champagne in the guest fridge, the florals & chocolates in our room, to the delicious gourmet dinner by candle light.... This is an Inn to visit if you want to be WOWED!
Everything was just perfect! Our room as the rest of the Inn was spotless and very well decorated! We loved the antiques! The bed was wonderful. THANK YOU FOR THAT! So comfortable and with all those extra pillows....aaahhh...... If it wasn't for those amazing home cooked breakfasts you offered, I think we would have stayed in that bed our entire stay! :-)

Thank you Kay and Peggy!

We loved the Folkestone Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spoiledguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: $133 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing