We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walker Family Reunion”
Review of Folkestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Folkestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Earlier this month about 14 of us reunited at Folkestone Inn. When we used to spend our summers, as children & young adults with our grandparents, it was in that home, long before anyone ever thought of making it an Inn. The memories were so special, as were our hosts, Steve & Eva, along with Robin. We brought our old photos & they also had some to share. They were extremely accommodating & helped make us really & truly feel "at home". Our breakfasts were varied & delicious...their Texas hospitality really did shine through. If you're ever in Bryson City area, please plan to spend a night or two with them...you'll really enjoy it!! Will send a photo later. Sharon & Mick

Room Tip: If you love nature, a room with a spacious balcony would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just spent 5 beautiful days at the Folkestone Inn. The inn is at a great location for hiking, white water rafting, driving into the mountains and is even a short hour & a half drive to Ashville. Then there are the delicious breakfasts! We ended up staying an extra day we were having such a relaxing time. Eva & Steve are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back!
Katie & Ray Woods

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've written about 90 tripadvisor reviews, and even with the places I like alot, I usually find something I don't like. I couldn't find anything that I didn't like about Folkestone Inn. The setting is perfect. Quiet, pastoral and scenic, but only a few minutes from Bryson City or the Smokey Mountain park. The place looks like a vey nice old farm house, perfect for a B&B. Our room was large, well decorated, clean, comfortable and had a private deck. Steve and Eva are mostly out of sight, so you feel like you have the place to yourselves. Eva cooks a wicked breakfast. We had a banana turnover this morning that was wonderful. Good thing I can't have those every day.

There's a lot do do in the area. Tubing, rafting, hiking, shopping... I know that we will visit Bryson City again, and we'll be staying at the Folkestone when we do.

Room Tip: Only one room with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Took my wife for a two night stay while we attended "Singing in the Smokies" at nearby Inspiration Park over the Fourth of July. I can't say enough good things about the Folkestone Inn. The inn is in a wonderfully private location and is very, very well maintained. The owners "know their business", and Robin is fantastic in her role as hostess. She is very helpful and very knowledgeable about Bryson City, the Smokey Mountain National Park, and the surrounding area. Breakfast is very well prepared and served, the rooms are cozy and clean, and the attention to detail is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our second stay & it was even better than we remembered. The rooms are cute, clean & cozy. The electric fire places were a cute touch & we loved having it on during the chilly night. Breakfast was truly fantastic. If I could have chocolate malt waffles everyday I would be a happy camper! Great hiking nearby & visiting the Nantahala Brewing Co is a must. Pizza at next door's Anthony's was a surprising treat! Loved this town, love this inn - we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerylArnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Although we live close enough to Bryson City to just stay home, it is such a pleasure to return again and again to the Folkestone Inn. The first visit several years ago was a surprise birthday for my husband, the second and third were treats for each other and we are trying to work out another for this spring. The location is off the beaten path--which adds to the charm. Hikers who have found the western section of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to be more crowded will be delighted at the more peaceful but just as gorgeous Deep Creek area on the eastern side.

The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable and the breakfasts among the best to be found anywhere. The staff is accommodating and very welcoming--helpful but not hovering.
We are B and B Inn fans and the Folkestone is among our top 5.

Room Tip: There is no "bad room." We like the ground floor best--cool, more privacy, and since we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great accommodations in a wonderful part of Western NC. You can literally start your Smoky Mountains hike right off of the front porch, after a fabulous breakfast... Peaceful bucolic setting with lots of outside quiet spots to sit, sip a glass of wine, and watch the sunset! Easy access to downtown Bryson City and other local attractions, as well as the Blue Ridge Parkway. Quiet, peaceful, with great hosts: what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Loved the rooms with a deck... Sipping wine, watching the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowrider221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
3.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#8 of 23 in Bryson City
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Folkestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folkestone Inn

Address: 101 Folkestone Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7891
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range: $135 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Folkestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Folkestone Inn is a quiet, tranquil setting for guests seeking solitude and peace. Our beautiful, rural location, a quarter mile from an entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is a gateway to some of the most beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, flora and fauna in the Southern Appalachians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Folkestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folkestone Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing