We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to get back there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview at Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview at Fontana
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

What an awesome place! We traveled there with another couple and we had the hardest time leaving when our stay was over. Everything was wonderful--the wine and cheese, the breakfast, the views, the service and especially the wonderful, relaxed atmosphere. We really enjoyed Wally the cat too! We stayed for two nights and had spa treatments that were wonderful. Almost hate to spread the word about this great place for fear it will stay booked up and we can't get reservations :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
89
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

I went to Lakeview with two girlfriends from work for a long weekend. When we pulled up the long tree-lined drive, and came upon the resort nestled in the smokey mountain side, all three of us gasped and smiled at once, and were immediatly washed with a feeling of beauty and calm. Getting out of the car we looked to our right over the sitting deck, out onto the breathtaking view of the lake framed by the mountains. We were happily greeted by the owner of the resort, and invited into the cafe for a glass of wine and refreshment, as we had arrived at the daily complimentary wine and cheese hour. When she showed us to our room, we were given our printed schedule of the spa services we had chosen and previously booked online, and invited to relax and enjoy our stay. We did just that! The next 3 days we chose yoga every morning, then enjoyed the best spa experiances any of us had ever had, and just relaxed and enjoyed the pleasant scenery. I would recommend this amazing and friendly resort and spa to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizGaughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Well, that's what Lakeview at Fontana has become for me. My wife and I were guests in early August and are still trying to figure out what makes this place so relaxing and special. The staff is wonderful - cheerful, accomodating and genuinely glad you are there. The rooms are simple but clean with comfortable beds and updated bathrooms. The breakfast and wine-and-cheese time are both delicious and fun, and provide opportunities for people to socialize. The pool in later afternoon was a refreshing break from the heat of the day's activities. And we also enjoyed our massages. Plus, it's a great value! We will definitely return. I am actually selfishly reluctant to write this review because when the word gets out, it's going to be a lot harder to book a room!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

It has to be hard to bring a 1950's motel up to today's standards. The place had great charm even though it was lacking in little things like drinking glasses in your room( I guess they think you do not need a drink of water) we did ask for some and never got any. The room rates are on the low side which was good. We did not use the spa however we heard it was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

I am a frequent visitor to the Bryson City area and thought I would give the spa at Lakeview a try. Being a frequent user of spas at Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons I wasn't expecting much in a town like Bryson City. I was pleasantly surprised that the spa and property exceeded my expectations. I received a hot stone massage that was superb. The room was cozy and comfortable and the staff is excellent in every way. The property is akin a to a European village rather than rustic cabins as you would expect in the NC mountains. As they say at Lakeview at Fontana, they are shabby chic!

I would highly recommend every aspect of Lakeview at Fontana.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reallybigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Don't let your first impression guide you! This is a very eclectic property. Three couples met here for a short "get-away" and we had a great time. Looks like a little village with a sidewalk cafe that hosts breakfast and wine/cheese in the afternoon. Homemade white sangria that all enjoyed. Friendly staff. Owner very nice and hospitable. Spa services by some of our party were greatly enjoyed!

Nita B.
Chattanooga, TN

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abrandenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed 6 nights at the Lakeview; and both of us agreed the best part of our trip was our stay there. Every morning we had breakfast in the café, which consisted of pastries, yogurt, cold cut meats, cheese, and breads. There was fresh orange juice and you got your own French press for coffee or tea.
If by chance you enjoy spa treatments, I would recommend doing a spa package. Not only do you get the spa services for a much discounted price, but you also get unlimited yoga classes and spa lunches. With my 5 Night Girl’s Night In, I received 4 treatments and ended up doing one a day. The sweet dream body wrap was so amazing I fell asleep, which I never do. The relaxation massage was good and the masseuse did great working on problem areas. The facial was a mini European facial without extractions or skin analysis, but still enjoyable. The Thai Body Scrub was also nice. The spa is small so they don’t offer everything a bigger spa might. However, the ambiance of the spa is 100% focused around relaxation which is great for vacation.
The yoga classes were good too. I am not a very big yoga fan, but it was nice to wake up and do some light yoga to stretch out for the day. The yoga classes tend to be small so you can usually tell the instructor what you want to get out of the class.
As for the spa lunches, big thank you to Hollis and Aileen; I am kind of a picky eater and everyday they checked with me to see if what they were going to service would be ok.
Wine and cheese was served from 6-7. There were a couple different cheese options on crackers or bruschetta, along with knick-knacks like olives, pretzels, etc. The wine options were red wine or white sangria. Personally I don’t like sangria so I would bring down my own white wine. It didn’t hit me to ask if they had white wine until the last night. And of course they did and were more than willing to let me have some, just had to ask!
The rooms were definitely rustic, but nice. The sheets and comforter were AMAZING! Towels and bath room supplies were good. Although there is not a TV in the room, there is a common one in the office building. There were a few spiders, but it’s the mountains what do you expect. The air conditioning is covered up by blinds, so for a good cold room all you need to do is make sure to pull the blinds up a little.
Although everything mentioned above was good, the most amazing part was the staff. One of the first days I asked Tetia, one of the co-owners, if they had nail polish remover. Although they didn’t, the next day she brought me some from her home. I could not believe she would go above and beyond like that, I was very impressed.
If you are looking for a more upscale resort, like the Grove Park Inn, then this probably will not suit you. But if you are looking for a very quiet, extremely laid back environment, with an amazingly helpful staff, then I would definitely book a stay at Lakeview at Fontana.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pavyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
17.8 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
9.1 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
24.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview at Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview at Fontana

Property: Lakeview at Fontana
Address: 171 Lakeview Lodge Dr, Bryson City, NC 28713-5953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview at Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small-scale & casual, Lakeview at Fontana evokes a quaint Mediterranean-meets-Greenwich Village ambiance; complete with charming courtyard, gourmet coffeehouse, yoga studio, and spa. Rooms and suites offer the perfect refuge for those who prefer their mountain breezes scented with the rich aroma of a cafe mocha. Or anyone whose idea of a fine afternoon is mountain biking or hiking followed by a hot stone massage. The surrounding 45 acres reveal an outdoor pool, a scenic hiking trail, and, of course, spectacular views of Fontana Lake and the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview at Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview At Fontana Hotel Bryson City
Lakeview At Fontana Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing