We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forty and Fabulous Spa Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview at Fontana
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Forty and Fabulous Spa Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

When you want to get away from it all but still enjoy modern luxuries, this is the place to do it. Our three day stay, included perfect accomodations in cottage #1, breafast each morning, happy hour each evening, and dailly spa services. Most importantly, the customer service was fantastic.

Our cottage was the first one upon driving up the hill into this quaint resort. Check~in was smooth and pleasant. The cottage has a small kitchen with full size refrigerator, 4~person dining room table, living room, 2 bedrooms (1 queen bed and the other with 2 full beds) and bathroom. This cottage was quaint and comfortable for three ladies. The accommodations were comfortable and spacious.

Each day we looked forward to breakfast. Since our purpose for this trip was to relax and, we really took advantage of our morning coffee time. French~pressed coffee, yogurt, pastries, toast and bagels were the staple each morning. The room and atmosphere was so cozy that we spent 1~2 hours each morning in this ritual before we headed out for the day. Happy hour each evening was also relaxing and included wine, bugs, fruits, cheese and crackers. We enjoyed taking our treats outdoor to the deck overlooking the lake. The view was amazing.

Each day we enjoyed spa services which we selected prior to check~in. We were impressed with the spa at this resort. It was quaint and relaxing. Collectively, we experienced various massage and body therapies such as the All in One massage, Relaxation massage, bamboo massage, hot stones massage, sugar scrub and green tea detox massage.

First, the positive. My favorite service was the green tea detox. This is a must do treatment. The hot stones massage was also very relaxing. Unfortunately, all other massages, although differently named, were very similar. The same two therapists were present throughout our stay. They were very sweet and professional. We would have like, however for the treatments to be actually be different since they had different names. This is definitely something they can improve upon. Apart from my detox therapy, which was done by a different therapist, we felt that overall the I th we therapists could work on improving their services.

All in all, we still rated this location highly because the location, customer service and ambience were magnificent. A special thanks you goes to Paula and Eddie who went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Viajes666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    41
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
93
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My friend and I did the 5-night 'Girls Night In' package which includes your room, four 50-minute spa treatments of choice, morning breakfast (lots more than just pastries as advertised) and free access to all yoga classes. The staff here are wonderful! Tanis is hands down the best masseuse (pun intended) in the Southeast and easily one of the best in the country. Cathy Wood's yoga is for every body type and skill level, and the perfect way to start your day. Tetia has nailed the concept of 'rustic chic.' Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primascubadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a fabulous girls getaway weekend . The accommodations were great, staff was fabulous. I completely enjoyed the spa treatment(had the all in one massage). The morning yoga class was very therapeutic and relaxing. I will most definitely recommend Lakeview at Fontana to all. I plan on going back there in the spring. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview for two nights while in town for a funeral. It was just lovely. Private room overlooking a gorgeous lake (that was made even more special because it was October and the leaves were gloriously beautiful); truly serene. Well appointed and clean rooms with nice linens, good shower, etc. Best (really the best!) part of the experience was strolling across the courtyard to the breakfast room where we found french pressed coffee prepared by a thoughtful staffer and a really outstanding spread of different danishes, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, fresh and dried berries and other toppings, toast, fresh OJ, etc., etc. Setting for this breakfast room is thoroughly inviting and relaxing; you enjoy your breakfast, read, and gaze out over the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpingeachother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed three nights for the first time with 3 friends and we are already trying to figure out when we can return! Such a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives!! It was like staying with family, without the drama!!
LOVED the common area where breakfast and happy hour were served! So inviting and comfortable, and everything was delicious. Amazed that in this day and age anyone can operate on an "Honor System" for extras one can get if needed (bottled water, snacks,etc)!
We zip lined for the first time and had the best time ever! Great way to start the day...and we ended the day with everyone taking a turn in the spa. No one was disappointed...my favorite was the Warm Bamboo massage.
Two of us stayed in the main building and the other 2 stayed in a detached suite. Both had everything we needed, although the detached suite had the perk of more "isolation" and less neighbor noise.
It IS an older resort with tons of character, but as many reviewers have said, don't show up expecting anything over-the-top or you will be disappointed. I found the simplicity of the entire resort refreshing....relaxing. Simple, but lovely.
Lots to do from shopping to hiking, zip lining to biking, horseback riding to kayaking/rafting, and plenty of friendly locals! The brewery is a must if you are a beer drinker! (bring your own food-they serve drinks only!!) Christmastime offers the Polar Express for families...
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Detached units are the quietest. Some have no stairs. convenient parking. Close to lots of activiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2hsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewatfontana, Owner at Lakeview at Fontana, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit, appreciated the uniqueness of our property, and experienced everything we have to offer.

As a recent guest stated... "The setting of course promotes relaxation, but the ambiance created by the owners and staff is what really sets you apart. Lakeview at Fontana is a quiet, kind, trusting, retreat."

Like you, most guests find our trusting nature (easy check-in, very few policies, honor system) to be an unexpected and comforting surprise.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not a boutique, resort or a spa in our opinion. Staff is friendly and try to be helpful. Buildings are very old and updates completed are purely cosmetic, not the structural kind this place really needs. We stayed in unit 10. King size bed was very uncomfortable and squeaky. Room is very basic - no tissues, no hair dryer, one chair, unstable and uneven floor, smell from air conditioner was horrible, no screens to keep bug friends out, windows do not operate or seal, and walkway to unit was disaster waiting to happen (see photo). Continental breakfast was good. Yogurt with granola is your best option. Evening wine was not so good, but at least it was offered. We confirmed much nicer places are available in the area for less $$. The swimming pool? Don't understand why they even bothered to put it in.

Upon returning home, we decided to re-check their website wondering what the heck did we miss. We had paid 132$ (119$ plus tax) a night for unit 10 and it was so basic and not like photos or descriptions/prices on the website. Aleen was kind enough to issue us a refund as if we would have paid for a queen room.

Staff is very nice. As usual, don't count on the website to ensure what you will find upon arrival. Typical of the area, it is very hilly. If you have mobility concerns be sure to let them know so they can set you up in a unit that meets your needs.

Room Tip: Typical of the area, it is very hilly. If you have mobility concerns be sure to let them know so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yayrockymtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Public Relations Manager at Lakeview at Fontana, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you appreciate the hospitality of our staff. Your comments regarding your room have been noted. Our priority is to create a tranquil, relaxing, and inspiring environment for our guests to unwind and unplug from their daily lives. This entire historic property was remodeled recently and extra attention has been put into creating a soothing and unrefined Mediterranean atmosphere without pretentious luxury appointments. Our guests often comment on our authentic charm and genuine custom details.

You might also appreciate that we are indeed looking into your sidewalk concerns. We remain hopeful that you will try us again and accept our genuine appreciation of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the booking process to your departure from the property, Lakeview at Fontana's staff goes above and beyond to provide you with a feeling of simple luxury and relaxation. We booked the "Treat Yourself Right" Package as a girlfriends getaway for old college roomies. It included 2 nights lodging and 2 Spa Treatments per person.

Lakeview at Fontana is situated just north of Bryson City. Small "bungalow" style units scatter the property. They've really done a nice job creating a relaxing environment with their cafe, serving French-pressed coffee & pastries each morning and Wine & Cheese in the early evenings. Your treats can be enjoyed under red umbrellas just outside the cafe or out on the deck overlooking the lake.

I highly recommend this retreat for a Girlfriends Getaway or Couples weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augal479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
9.1 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
17.7 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
9.0 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
24.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview at Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview at Fontana

Property: Lakeview at Fontana
Address: 171 Lakeview Lodge Dr, Bryson City, NC 28713-5953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview at Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small-scale & casual, Lakeview at Fontana evokes a quaint Mediterranean-meets-Greenwich Village ambiance; complete with charming courtyard, gourmet coffeehouse, yoga studio, and spa. Rooms and suites offer the perfect refuge for those who prefer their mountain breezes scented with the rich aroma of a cafe mocha. Or anyone whose idea of a fine afternoon is mountain biking or hiking followed by a hot stone massage. The surrounding 45 acres reveal an outdoor pool, a scenic hiking trail, and, of course, spectacular views of Fontana Lake and the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview at Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview At Fontana Hotel Bryson City
Lakeview At Fontana Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing