We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Wesser Brew & BBQ

Big Wesser Brew & BBQ
Ranked #24 of 53 Restaurants in Bryson City
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Casual and laid back environment. Can't beat the view. Had the pulled pork and it was amazing. The menu is limited but quality.

Helpful?
Thank jillyan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
375 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“OKAY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We took a ride on the Great Smokey Railroad train ride which made a one hour stop which just so happened to be at the Big Wesser BBQ & Brew restaurant.
We ordered the pulled pork BBQ plate which came with beans and cole slaw ( French fries are not offered).
The place was packed but we got our food fairly fast and it was reasonably priced and the staff was very friendly.
I've had much better BBQ but also some pretty lousy platters too.
All in all it wasn't too bad but I would not go out of my way to eat here again.
I would have to rate it as so so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat and watch the play boaters train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted to eat at the restaurant across the river but it was packed so we came here and glad we did. The food was delicious and they actually had sauce choices for the BBQ. We grabbed our food and found a picnic table outside by the river to watch the kayakers train for the world championships this week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 32Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Handy and inexpensive place to eat at NOC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good food and great local beer. You can actually have a light meal there for $3 if you order a couple of their $1.50 sides - Smoky Gouda Mac and Cheese (delicious) plus a salad, for example. The pulled pork is also excellent, and the local Nantahala Brewery beer is terrific!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I plus my in-laws had the opportunity to visit while riding the Grand Smoky Mountain Railroad. We only had about an hour layover before the train left to return to Bryson City. The service was very fast. 3 of us had the pulled pork which was juicy and delicious. My wife had the chicken. The skin wasn't that good but the meat was very good. Mac and cheese was excellent. Kettle chips, potato salad, and cole slaw were good. Wasn't fond of the of the corn bread. Seemed dry. But overall the food was excellent and the same with the service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danimal140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Wesser Brew & BBQ also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Big Wesser Brew & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing