We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in the world!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almond Boat and RV Park
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family has been going here most every fall for over ten years. I always hate to leave. The kids can play in front of the cabins and adults relax in the rocking chairs on the porch. My Dad's Dad used to take him and am blessed to be able to carry on the tradition. Thanks to Jim and Jo for being such great people and serving in any way they can.

Glenn Kimbrell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank protuneonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is our kind of place, not luxurious but rustic, comfortable, and relaxing. Nicest people on the planet own and run this place and bent over backwards for us. We also rented a practically brand new pontoon boat and enjoyed the lake inaccessible by car or foot. Fontana Lake is a great lake to vacation on and we will be back each and every year staying at Almond Boat and RV Park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LocalTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have been going here every year for 28 years. The owners, Jim and Jo Mathis and their son Jeff are the best people on this planet. They will bend over backwards to help you. The cabins are always spotless when we get there. Every day we "walk the hill" and you never see any trash, debri, etc. Not many good restaurants, but we are happy campers to make a drink, sit on the porch with our friends, grill a good meal and look at the beautiful lake. This is a hidden gem - you have to at least try --- you will be back :) Chicago City Folks. p.s. the beds are fine; and Jo Mathis does everything she can to make it look very "spruced up".

Room Tip: ask for a front cabin if there are just 2-3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydiual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After our first stay we knew we'd be back and we were!
We brought jetskis and had a trailer issue that had to be repaired before we could head back to Tennessee, we would not have been able to do that without their help in setting it up. For that we are most definitely grateful.
The location, the lake and the peacefulness will draw you in but the people will keep you there! They're some of the nicest people you could ever meet! We have already requested our reservations for next year, but I hope to be back before then!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kphalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family used to go here about every year, but we hadn't been in 10 or 12 years. It was once a very neat, clean and enjoyable place to go. I was very surprised that the cottage was obviously appointed with thrift store bargains, the beds are INCREDIBLY hard and uncomfortable,the shower has a fixed shower head that won't move and sprays in an awkward manner, the rates have increased due to the addition of satellite tv I suppose, they advertise WIFI which didn't work for me and above and beyond all that, it appeared the place hadn't been swept, dusted or sprayed for insects since this time last year because the morning my husband and I were getting ready to leave, I saw a brown recluse spider in the closet/cubby hole. I have a degree in environmental science and know one when I see one. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trece0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Almond Boat and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We’re sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our quaint and rustic style may not be suitable for all, but we have been serving families for over 41 years who come back year after year and rave about Almond Boat and RV Park and our cabins. We wish you would have told us about your concerns as we are always accessible to resolve any issues, and we never heard from you about your concerns while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We love Fontana Lake and there is no other marina for us than Almond Boat Park. We have known Jim, Jolene, Jeff, Mark and Floyd our whole life. Even though we have been gone from the NC Mtns now for 30 yrs their hospitality always makes coming home that much more special! If you have never been to Fontana Lake in the mountains of NC you have missed a true treasure and you must visit via Almond Boat Park where you will be welcomed by the most genuine people on earth!

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank carlanglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Almond Boat and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are thrilled to read your review! Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to tell others about your experience here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cool breezes , beautiful lake and a couple of the nicest people in the world as owners . Sounds like and advertisement i know but it should cause its true . Jim and Jo and their son Jeff worked very hard to make sure our one month stay was a good one . And it was . We travelled there in our class A motorhome and had planned to stay there for the whole summer . Personal problems prevented that and although i had already prepaid for the summer Jims wife Jo wrote a refund check without me even asking . Someone tell me where else on earth that happens cause i don't know .We loved jet skiing on the lake and they really are a place that ideally suits water based activities . Cost of boat rentals seemed very reasonable . My daughter went tubing for the first time and really enjoyed it . White water rafting is just a few miles down the road . The campground is designed for fully operational rvs and travel trailers and they don't accept tents. Since there aren't showers you need a self contained operational rig here . Full hook ups and power and water were good
All the people there were great including the permanent seasonal campers . Mostly older campers but all friendly and outgoing . One of my business partners visited me and stayed in a cabin . He loved it and didnt want to leave .
Lastly one thing to add . I'm a Christian and try and live a Godly life . So are Jim and Jo . And when you meet people who care more about your enjoyment of their facility than profit of financial gain it really is a blessing . God Bless you guys and also thanks to Mark for help with all .

Room Tip: All rooms have great view of lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Almond Boat and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving a review about our RV Park! We sure appreciate it and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
7.4 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#7 of 10 in Bryson City
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
96 reviews
11.3 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Boat and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Boat and RV Park

Address: 1165 Almond Boat Park Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-4400
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range: $105 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 and 2 bedroom lakefront cabin rentals, RV sites with full hook-ups, and boat rentals. Cabins include Direct satellite TV, a shower bath, electric heat, air conditioning and a private front porch facing the lake. RV Park is opened from April to October with 52 sites with full hookups (water, electric, sewer). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing