We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and reasonable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and reasonable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms. They were clean, comfortable and reasonable. We stayed upstairs with plenty of windows and light in the morning. medium sized refrigerator for a hotel.

We arrived very late at night, but the owners had everything prepared and ready for us, so we could just go to our room. Excellent people to talk to and work with.

We stayed only one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a river room, make your reservations early. The upstairs rooms have a nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coachchadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
60
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beds were comfortable and clean, AC worked great, fridge was nice size, not the tiny ones many places have. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Being on the river was nice. The back porch has a rail from one end to the other and I could not get to the river from my room without going to the opposite end of the facility and since porch is narrow, one has to practically crawl over other people on the porch. I had hoped to walk out via a gate near the room.
Rooms could use some updating. Screen in screen door was torn and floor outside onto patio area felt like it might fall in. Floor in room was uneven and needed replacing. Hopefully all rooms are not like this. Second day I had no water for shower or brushing teeth and this was at 9:30 a.m. It was fine later in the day.
Another electric outlet or two would be nice.
Parking was tight and I backed into the rock wall by the pool and put a bad scratch in my bumper. Should have paid more attention but still not a good souvenir to take home.
Priced higher than other comparable places in area so probably won't stay again. If you plan to fish or love to sit by the river, you will love this place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slhorton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Dont know where they got the photos of this place they must have been taken a long time ago. Rppm was very basic and old and did not represent good value compared to other places we have stayed in for a similar price Could not recomend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Con P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
268 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you are looking for a modern, fully appointed, luxury accommodation, this is not it. This is a comfortable quiet little country inn directly on the banks of the Tuckasegee River just outside Bryson City. The beds are comfortable, the amenities are fine. The view is exceptional. Looking out your window and seeing fly fishermen wading in the river and being able to see the bottom of the river through the clear water both make for real relaxation. The pool is clean and was never over full or rowdy during our stay. I would stay here again. My favorite part was the back porch, overlooking the river, with rocking chairs. Just sitting there, enjoying the quiet was worth the trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a river room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bureaucrat377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My friend and I came to Bryson City by motorcycle from Jacksonville, FL. I picked this place on reviews AND price. It is in an excellent location for ALL the great motorcycle rides; like the Blue Ridge Pkwy, The Dragon and Moonshiner's Hwy.
This Inn was built in the 1920's, so it has an interesting but fun demeanor. It is in a nice quiet area about 5 miles from downtown.
The beds had quilts and matching shams and were VERY comfortable. We had a table, two chairs, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There are grills outside and rockers on the back porch with a great view of the river. The window unit kept us warm and cool as needed, along with ceiling fans. It is too bad the old fireplaces are boarded up, adding an electric one in the rooms would be nice.
The owners are an amiable couple, Larry was on duty and he is full of info about eateries, shopping and events. He also gave me a better deal than the online booking agencies, so worth calling them yourself. Anything you want, just ask. We got old towels from the laundry to dry the bike with, also for use while mining. He gave us directions to town and lots of suggestions for restaurants.
There was NO closet in our room, lots of dresser space, though. The shower was touchy, the hot water seemed to get hotter without warning. The Wi-Fi was sporadic, but they have loads of routers so if one doesn't work, well just try another!!
I enjoyed sitting on the back porch watching the birds and pets across the river after a day of riding.
Quirky charm, but I would stay there again...we had a lot of fun. I like this kind of place, the sterility and poor service at the big chain hotels is such a turn-off for me now.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the river. The porch was awesome, very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I found this place through word of mouth. It is a great little place to stay. No frills but that's how we like it. The back porch, rocking chairs, the river and the geese. Harrahs had a great seafood buffet. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUNYAJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayce, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Recently my wife of 41yrs. and I took alittle time off from the everyday life in the big city and cme to this quiet little motel ooutside Bryson City,NC. I found this place on the web and it was as good if not better than descibed. The gentleman at the front desk gave us some places to dine and they were great. This place is quiet, peaceful. The back deck with the rocking chairs and the river view is most pleasing. when your in this area. spend a few days that Lloyds on the River.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side...the back porch/deck is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
0.1 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
4.4 mi away
Riverbend Lodging
Riverbend Lodging
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds on the River Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds on the River Country Inn

Property: Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Address: 5370 Ela Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-7871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds on the River Country Inn has 25 rooms, 15 are directly on the Oconaluftee River with back porches and rocking chairs. All rooms have a unique decor and most are furnished with real handmade beds, dressers and tables made of cherry wood. There are four kitchennettes with the rest having small refrigerators and microwaves. Wi-Fi, in-room coffee service and full cable are provided. An outdoor pool, grills, picnic tables and fishing from our river bank round out the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lloyds on the River Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds On The River Country Hotel Bryson City
Country Inn Bryson City
Bryson City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing