We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast for an early start in Bryson City”
Review of The Iron Skillet

The Iron Skillet
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast for an early start in Bryson City”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Looking for a great way to start your day in Bryson City? No better place than breakfast at The Iron Skillet. Tucked away in downtown Bryson, near the river, The Iron Skillet offers an expansive breakfast and lunch menu. Egg dishes, pancakes and French toast come with all the trimmings here, where locals have flocked for years. And, don't miss the Iron Skillet sausage gravy, a Southern tradition that will keep you coming back. The menu is very reasonably priced and the family atmosphere makes it popular for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    84
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hometown Cooking”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I were visiting Bryson City for the first time and we were looking for somewhere good to eat breakfast. The Iron Skillet was it! Good hometown cooking. Lots of choices on the menu and good prices. You gotta try their bacon. It was the best bacon I have ever eaten. Thick and crispy, very flavorful! If we were in town the next day we would have gone back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowens1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hometown Restaurant & Gluten Free is possible”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed breakfast here. We were greated by a friendly waitress. My husband had Eggs, Bacon, Biscuits and Gravy and they put tomatoes on top at his request. I had to eat gluten free. This was not a problem. The menu did not state gluten free but I explained what I needed to avoid and ordered a cheese omelet with a side of bacon. I would recommend this restaurant. The food was tasty and was served quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick and friendly.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate breakfast at the Iron Skillet while we were in Bryson City for a few days and it was pretty good. They had traditional diner breakfast options, and some other novelty items as well. We both got the "working man special" which was eggs, bacon, biscuit, homefries and a pancake, and it was delicious. The biscuit was definitely phenomenal, however the coffee left something to be desired. The staff was super friendly and had our order out super quick. Would definitely recommend the Iron Skillet if you're looking for a traditional breakfast in Bryson City.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Two coworkers and myself decided to grab lunch before out meeting today. The restaurant we originally were going to go to was closed so we went over to the Iron Skillet. We will not be returning there. We did not have out food within 45 minutes. We ended up getting out order to and eat at the meeting. When I opened my grilled chicken salad to eat it turned out I only had a tossed salad. Upon on return to the office we tried to stop by to get this corrected and they were closed until 5 PM. My coworkers indicated their food was not good. Needless to say we will not be returning there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMiller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Skillet also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Iron Skillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing