We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a shame.”

Cooper Creek Trout Farm & Pond
Ranked #10 of 29 things to do in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a shame.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I had a great time fishing at the trout farm. We caught six nice trout, about 9 lbs. The price for renting equipment and paying for the fish was very reasonable we thought. It was not until we returned home and invited our neighbors over to enjoy a great fresh trout dinner. There were so many bones left in the filets we could not enjoy the meal. Part of what you pay for is quality filets, there where bones left in every filet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tommy7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great fishing experience for the novice fisherman. You are almost guaranteed to catch plenty of fish. They provide everything you need plus do all the dirty work of cleaning. Must pay for all you catch @ $4.80/lb. so much fun!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grilling Fresh Fish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Trout pond was just up the road from where we were staying. Fresh fish on the grill for dinner awesome. Friendly atmosphere. Easy to catch a fish. Good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pick a fish, and throw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Trout hatchery. You are guaranteed to catch as many as you want to pay for. Pond is very overstocked. Fish swim up to you on by the bank looking for food. Most at 1.5 lbs to 2 lbs. Must keep everything you catch @ $4.80 per pound. They will clean them for a small fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, fun........great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

You may think $4.80/lb is pricey, but try to buy them in the store. There is nothing as catching your own fish, someone else cleaning them, and cooking them fresh from the pond! We could even take our dog, who was accompanied in play by the resident white German Shepherd. We enjoyed watching the children catching fish, the dogs playing, and most of all, the view and the fishing. Cannot be beaten! Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper Creek Trout Farm & Pond also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cooper Creek Trout Farm & Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing