We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantahala Village(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$169
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Lodging(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lloyds on the River Country Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gracey Manor(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
117
15
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
15
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoy boxgallery suiteprairie edgewithin walking distancefull kitchenorient pointliving room and bedroomjacuzzi tubhis wifenice suitemovie memorabiliatwo blockscereal barsmovie roomthe ownertrain stationdowntown area
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 135 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We came to Bryson and stayed at the Calhoun House for our 35 wedding anniversary. And we LOVED it. We will be back. Close enough to everything, yet quiet, homey, and wonderful. Loved the fireplace. I took a nap during the day and I usually don't do that at all!!
I am begging my husband to give us a couple of more days for our Christmas present---- or Valentines day present!!! I want to go back sooooo bad!
Cindy
Attalla, Alabama

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CINDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Made a spur of the moment decision to take our two small boys to "The Polar Express" and found Calhoun while searching for a place to stay during our visit. It had gotten such good reviews and now I have the pleasure of writing one myself. We were greeted in our suite by Mr. Ed shortly after our arrival. We found our suite to be very spacious, clean, and comfortable. There were even food items in the kitchen for our family, which served as our breakfast both mornings. This was the perfect set up for our family. It's not always ideal for a family of four to stay in a hotel room. With this room, we were able to put our boys to bed on the sleeper sofa and we could lay in bed and watch tv without disturbing them. We also loved the charm and history of the inn. Mr. Ed was so kind and helpful to us. We stayed in the movie suite. We also enjoyed Bryson City. Very quaint and charming. If/when we visit again, where we will stay is a no brainier.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family stayed in the "movie" suite. It was well decorated, clean, there were snacks and breakfast in the kitchen. It is close to everything and very close to the train station. I would not hestitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a perfect inn in a wonderful setting. We were in the Toy Box Suite. It was fancifully decorated with antique toys and teddy bears. All the suites are different, but I'm sure they're all equally spacious and well-appointed. The owner was gracious and made sure to greet us,show us all the amenities and answer all our questions about dinner options and area sightseeing. If we are in this area again we would absolutely go back. We certainly wish we'd spent more time on this quieter side of Smoky Mountain National Park than the crazy busy side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cora2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Comfortable, clean and quite not much more needs to be said but I will. This is our second stay here at the Calhoun House Inn & Suites and the second time we chose to stay in the Prairie room. While we have visited all the rooms and all are equally as nice but differently decorated we preferred the décor of the Prairie room. Our suite had a complete kitchen with dishwasher and all the dishes needed to prepare and eat any type of meal you would choose. When you arrive you will find the refrigerator stocked with enough food that you do not have to venture out after you first arrive if you do not want to and have breakfast as well. Ed and Shirley Ciociola are extremely nice and go beyond what could be expected to make your stay both pleasant and comfortable without being obtrusive. When you book your stay Ed can also arrange the service’s of the Wildwater Rafting Company which offer rafting, jeep tours and canopy tours of which we chose the jeep tours with the waterfall route. I mentioned this to let everyone know that not only do Ed and Shirley provide an excellent place to stay but are a treasure trove of information on things to do during your stay at the Calhoun House Inn and Suites. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalhounHouse, Owner at Calhoun House Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad we could help make your stay in Bryson City an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews