We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cabin-Great Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Oak Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cabin-Great Location”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked a room for 4 night stay during IFC World Kayak Championships. We were pleasantly surprised that Mercedith had upgraded us to cabin #3. The cabin was quaint with a very confortable bed and plenty of room for 2 people (it also has a doble bed pull out couch). Very quiet & nestled in the trees. Our only suggestion is to travelers that like to sleep in past dawn, bring eye shades as the cathedral windows are not covered.
Location was great, very close to the heart of downtown Bryson City but away from any traffic noise. We ate breakfast each day at the Everett Street Diner (included) and had great food, great choices & very warm service-by day 2 we felt like "regulars".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben2957, Public Relations Manager at West Oak Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at West Oak and that you did not mind the upgrade! We hope you enjoyed watching the Kayaking Championships and visiting the surrounding area. The Everett Street Diner is a local hot-spot when is comes to breakfast and we are glad to be able to offer our guests the option of having breakfast there instead of cooking for them! We hope to see you in Bryson City again sometime!

Thank you,

- From all of us at West Oak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We came across the West Oak B&B by chance for our accommodation in the Smokey Mountains. The owner Mercedith was incredibly kind and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. The rooms which our group stayed in, # 4 & # 5, were like cozy cabins.

Some amenities include the following: # 4 offered a kitchen, washer/dryer, a small bed perfect for a child, a queen bed, a private bath, heat & air conditioning, and a grill outside. # 5 offered two queen beds, private bath, small microwave, coffee/tea pot, and a private patio with a fire pit & grill outside.

Stepping outside of both rooms in the morning was a treat as we were greeted with views overlooking Bryson City and the Smokey Mountains. The B&B was within walking distance of downtown Bryson City and within close proximity to many hiking trails, rafting companies, and other attractions.

Highly recommended!

Jay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I loved staying here. We can't wait to come back! It was very clean. The owner was very friendly. It had everything that you needed in it. Including a full kitchen and it even had a washing machine and dryer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodiw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great place to call home for the night. If you are in the area, you can't go wrong here. Bring your own food and get your cookin' on in the full stocked kitchens or head out into the town to explore the many local possibilities there.
Here's the Review I put together on Globetrekkin':
http://www.globetrekk.in/2012/05/18/west-oak-cabins-bb-bryson-city-nc/

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoBissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've been coming to West Oak for years and I love it! I make a point to come back at least once a year and have always enjoyed my stays. It's a perfect location for exploring the mountain and rivers nearby, as well as being centrally located in Bryson City. The property, rooms and cabins are beautiful and well maintained as well as very private. The proprietor, Mercedith Bacon, is a delight and is always very helpful.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughingPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Loved our stay here, so quiet and peaceful with awesome views :-) Close to the town and would highly recommend :-) Meredith was a wonderful host and great place to explore the Smoky Mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at the West Oak. We stayed in room 4, which was perfect. It's got just a small window, but it shows exactly what you want it to show- a pretty view of the mountains through the leaded window - instead of the uglier houses nearby that you'd see with a larger window. It had flagstone floors a couch and two chairs, in the main room, plus a great make-up or eating area in the area with the sink (sink is not in the bathroom). It was such a cozy room, especially with the charming little reading nook tucked into the wall - I think that a child could even sleep in there - but don't count on that please, parents - I'm not sure it's code or that you'd be keen on having a young child navigate that ladder. The coolest part about this room is that it has a little kitchen in there complete w/ stove, oven, sink, fridge, microwave, dishes and pans - even a seating area and a washer/dryer is tucked in that room.
The only negative thing I could say about the room is that the tub was not great. It did not hold water for a bath, and it just didn't look very inviting, and there was some water damage on the walls. But, these things were not a big deal, we'd definitely stay there again. You don't expect absolute perfection at that price. We were more than pleased with the room.
The walk to the diner for breakfast was not a big deal, and we definitely felt like we got a good bang for our buck on that, too (you just need to tip). The diner was nice, and is now open on Sundays, you'd be going to Everett St. each day.
The owner, Ms. Bacon is lovely, and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspruil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
0.2 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#10 of 10 in Bryson City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Bryson City
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Folkestone Inn
Folkestone Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#7 of 10 in Bryson City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Oak Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Oak Bed & Breakfast

Property: West Oak Bed & Breakfast
Address: 101 Fryemont Rd, Bryson City, NC 28713-5668
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing