We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Multiple choice burger”

Jimmy Mac's Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family owned and operated all American steak and seafood restaurant that specializes in hand pattied beef, buffalo, and elk burgers, hand cut steaks, and fresh seafood. Since we opened in 1978 in Tampa Florida by my father, we have been believers in keeping things fresh, fairly priced, and family friendly.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Multiple choice burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had dinner here and like others have said, it's good to get in the door early. We wandered around town just looking for a popular spot, and we got almost the last open table around 5 PM. They brag on their burgers and we both thought they were in fact very good. They have a variety of different ways they offer them, and along with getting your standard cowburger you can get the same choices as a buffalo burger or an elk burger.

The service was a bit slow but we got to watch a waitress dressed as Marilyn Monroe. Maybe because it was near Halloween, or maybe that's just her style. We'll go back there next time we decide to take the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. Or when we go tubing nearby in Deep Creek, another don't-miss.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    185
    93
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The owner of our Gatlinburg B&B told us about this little local gem. She advised us to "get there early for dinner" so we did and boy were we glad we took her advice. After spending the day driving the Smokies and Maggie Valley, we headed towards Bryson City just before 5pm.
Upon entering the restaurant was already quite full and we both just kind of stood there looking lost as there isn't any type of hostess station and none of the wait staff acknowledged us. After about 5 minutes a waitress took us to our seats and handed us menus. Upon opening the menu both our jaws dropped to the floor....in comparision to Gatlinburg we felt like the prices were out of the 1980's. $11.99 for filet? Wow. The service is a bit slow but this is a little southern town and things move differently here. The filet was so tender, the baked potato smooth and creamy and the shrimp were tasty. Our meal included a salad which was about average, nothing new. If you find yourself in BC I would give it a try. Next time we will stop in for lunch as the burger that went by looked fantastic. We were also told by some locals they have great fish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best food for your $$”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband & I visited Jimmy Mac's while in Bryson City, NC this past May 2012. Just because a place seems busy, doesn't mean the food is that great. It has a little charm for a small town restaurant, but for us that was all. We must have ordered the wrong thing on the menu, and we paid quite a high price for food that wasn't good, or filling. I don't know what we did wrong, but the locals seem to like it. It just didn't meet our expectations, and we're not that hard to please.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went back for a second visit; need I say more! Staff was very helpful with my wife' s gluten intolerance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

You can't go wrong when this is where the locals go. So many of the locals told us about this place and they were so right. Get there early. This restaurant fills up fast. Small town feel and oh so friendly. The food was very tasty, not over priced and the portions were just right. Family friendly and they even had a television in the dinning room so we could watch the game. Wait staff were perfect in everyway.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniefg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Mac's Restaurant also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jimmy Mac's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing