We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nantahala Village
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$90
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Lodging(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lloyds on the River Country Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$95
$78
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview at Fontana(Bryson City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
102
51
36
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
51
36
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfireplace suitehorseback ridinghot tubbasketball courtfun weekendcontinental breakfastwhite water raftingnice roomoverlooking the mountainsget awayfront porchonly stayed one nightthe main lodgegrounds are beautifulwonderful stayrocking chairsback porch
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 226 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We booked a 2 night stay in a rental called "The Hearth".. Having read a negative review on this house I was prepared for a mediocre experience. I was there for an event and needed the location of this house. The floor plan was also comfortable. I have to agree with the other review of the Hearth though. The bathrooms need a total redo. Old dingy grout and broken tile. The bedding was also hand me down. I brought my own linens luckily. Only 1 television. The decorations were old and outdated. The house has potential which makes me sad. The positive was location to the lodge, the new hot tub, the large family room and the downstairs carpet was new. The Thirteen Moons restaurant saved the trip. The most delicious food ever. Very Nice staff also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttonMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I have stayed at the village 2 times. The first time was in June 2010 and our room was NOT clean. We found bands and tissue all over the bathroom floor. Also most of the fixture wasn't working. The ceiling fan did not work. We informed the staff about our problems, and they did come a repair most in a timely fashion.

The second time I stayed there was October 2010. This time we rented a cabin. The water pump broke for the cabin and we were without water for Saturday and Sunday. No one from the village was nice of enough to contact us to to inform us that the cabin has NO water. When we contacted Nantahala village they informed us the water would be turn on in an hour, after an hour no water, the next day still NO water. I have 2 small children and NO water to cook dinner or breakfast. I have NO water to take baths or even go to the bathroom and wash our hand. I had NO water to wash my baby bottles. Nantahala Village did NOTHING about this. They even charged us for that night. We will NEVER stay there again. I hope this was helpful to you if you are considering staying at Nantahala Village Mountain Resort and Meeting Center in Bryson City NC. There are better places to stay with more accommodating staff who will help with something uncontrollable happens.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncwebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

We do apologize for the water problems you encountered. Our maintenance staff did and will make every effort to ensure that a problem is fixed once it has occurred. Though our mountain location does increase the probability of problems with utilities systems, we were not aware of any water problems at the time of your check-in.

We do apologize also that you weren't notified of the lack of water. We were not aware you had no water until you and another guest called at the same time to notify us.

We hope that our efforts to make you more comfortable did not go unnoticed, because we were truly concerned about your plight. We gave you the keys to a nearby cabin to shower. Though you said there was no hot water, it came on immediately when we checked the next day. Housekeeping noted that all the showers had been used. We delivered multiple large spring water bottles for drinking and a large tub of water for washing your baby bottles to the cabin door.

You were charged for the one night you were without water, because every guest pays upon check-in, but at the time of your review, you had already been notified of the one-night refund which was promptly processed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had already called ahead 2 weeks earlier and asked to completely pay for our 2 night stay. The operator said it was taken care of and everything was paid in full. But when we got there we were informed that we had a balance and that our debit card was never ran even though we were told it was. When we told the manager our story, she didnt apologize or try to compliment us with anything to sooth the misunderstanding. it was almost like it was our fault. The staff was very distant. The cabin was nice and the staff leaves you alone to enjoy your stay. The room is clean and very nice though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

We are very sorry for the confusion. Our staff by policy is not allowed to run a credit card for the balance of the reservation including the sales and occupancy tax until the day of check-in. We do apologize for the misunderstanding, our reservationist should not have told you that they had the ability to run your balance.
We did however hold the reservation balance and did not run the balance for a week. We also called you prior to running the card so that you could let us know if the date we were going to run the card was agreeable to you.
This is not our status quo and management will communicate our procedures and policies more clearly in the future.
There is a 20% discount on the reservation. We normally do not give discounts in October however, we do want to apologize again for the misunderstanding and are pleased that you enjoyed you accomodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The key to find out before you book is if you are booking an owner or resort owned rental. Our first trip we had a resort owned cabin which I'd rate 5 stars; this trip we rented the Hearth, owner-owned cabin... not sure it even deserves 1 star. Very ill-equipped kitchen, furniture falling apart, dirty, in dire need of an exterminator and overall very out-dated. Stairs leading to entry door falling apart and dangerous; spa not located in appealing place - again we were very disappointed. Thankfully the resort staff was very accommodating and provided us with eating and cooking utensils and had maintenance do what they could - provided light bulbs, etc. Check out the resort owned, Bear Ridge - this one won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAtrav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Thank you so much for your comments. The owner of the cabin has given cart blanc to correct the issues that you had during your stay. We are also very glad that you enjoyed Bear Ridge. Bear Ridge is one of my personal favorites and we will try our best to accomodate you in the cabin of your choice upon your return.
People in the past have waited until the last minute to book their vacations. However, we have noticed a trend in the economy lately, our guests are beginning to book far in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We rented one of the Mountain Suites as we originally were supposed to be with another couple who had to cancel. We've stayed at various cabins and cottages in the area and for the price the Mountain Suite was nice and very big. It would have been great with a couple of friends. With just the wife and I it felt cavernous and empty but since we were out enjoying the perfect fall weather most of the time it didn't matter! The staff was courteous and responsive through the reservation and arrival process. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morph1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews