We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't rent a privately owned house.”
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nantahala Village
memphis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“don't rent a privately owned house.”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We booked a 2 night stay in a rental called "The Hearth".. Having read a negative review on this house I was prepared for a mediocre experience. I was there for an event and needed the location of this house. The floor plan was also comfortable. I have to agree with the other review of the Hearth though. The bathrooms need a total redo. Old dingy grout and broken tile. The bedding was also hand me down. I brought my own linens luckily. Only 1 television. The decorations were old and outdated. The house has potential which makes me sad. The positive was location to the lodge, the new hot tub, the large family room and the downstairs carpet was new. The Thirteen Moons restaurant saved the trip. The most delicious food ever. Very Nice staff also.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttonMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    49
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
72
88
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southern pines, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I have stayed at the village 2 times. The first time was in June 2010 and our room was NOT clean. We found bands and tissue all over the bathroom floor. Also most of the fixture wasn't working. The ceiling fan did not work. We informed the staff about our problems, and they did come a repair most in a timely fashion.

The second time I stayed there was October 2010. This time we rented a cabin. The water pump broke for the cabin and we were without water for Saturday and Sunday. No one from the village was nice of enough to contact us to to inform us that the cabin has NO water. When we contacted Nantahala village they informed us the water would be turn on in an hour, after an hour no water, the next day still NO water. I have 2 small children and NO water to cook dinner or breakfast. I have NO water to take baths or even go to the bathroom and wash our hand. I had NO water to wash my baby bottles. Nantahala Village did NOTHING about this. They even charged us for that night. We will NEVER stay there again. I hope this was helpful to you if you are considering staying at Nantahala Village Mountain Resort and Meeting Center in Bryson City NC. There are better places to stay with more accommodating staff who will help with something uncontrollable happens.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncwebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
We do apologize for the water problems you encountered. Our maintenance staff did and will make every effort to ensure that a problem is fixed once it has occurred. Though our mountain location does increase the probability of problems with utilities systems, we were not aware of any water problems at the time of your check-in.

We do apologize also that you weren't notified of the lack of water. We were not aware you had no water until you and another guest called at the same time to notify us.

We hope that our efforts to make you more comfortable did not go unnoticed, because we were truly concerned about your plight. We gave you the keys to a nearby cabin to shower. Though you said there was no hot water, it came on immediately when we checked the next day. Housekeeping noted that all the showers had been used. We delivered multiple large spring water bottles for drinking and a large tub of water for washing your baby bottles to the cabin door.

You were charged for the one night you were without water, because every guest pays upon check-in, but at the time of your review, you had already been notified of the one-night refund which was promptly processed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had already called ahead 2 weeks earlier and asked to completely pay for our 2 night stay. The operator said it was taken care of and everything was paid in full. But when we got there we were informed that we had a balance and that our debit card was never ran even though we were told it was. When we told the manager our story, she didnt apologize or try to compliment us with anything to sooth the misunderstanding. it was almost like it was our fault. The staff was very distant. The cabin was nice and the staff leaves you alone to enjoy your stay. The room is clean and very nice though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We are very sorry for the confusion. Our staff by policy is not allowed to run a credit card for the balance of the reservation including the sales and occupancy tax until the day of check-in. We do apologize for the misunderstanding, our reservationist should not have told you that they had the ability to run your balance.
We did however hold the reservation balance and did not run the balance for a week. We also called you prior to running the card so that you could let us know if the date we were going to run the card was agreeable to you.
This is not our status quo and management will communicate our procedures and policies more clearly in the future.
There is a 20% discount on the reservation. We normally do not give discounts in October however, we do want to apologize again for the misunderstanding and are pleased that you enjoyed you accomodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The key to find out before you book is if you are booking an owner or resort owned rental. Our first trip we had a resort owned cabin which I'd rate 5 stars; this trip we rented the Hearth, owner-owned cabin... not sure it even deserves 1 star. Very ill-equipped kitchen, furniture falling apart, dirty, in dire need of an exterminator and overall very out-dated. Stairs leading to entry door falling apart and dangerous; spa not located in appealing place - again we were very disappointed. Thankfully the resort staff was very accommodating and provided us with eating and cooking utensils and had maintenance do what they could - provided light bulbs, etc. Check out the resort owned, Bear Ridge - this one won't disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAtrav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantahalavillage, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. The owner of the cabin has given cart blanc to correct the issues that you had during your stay. We are also very glad that you enjoyed Bear Ridge. Bear Ridge is one of my personal favorites and we will try our best to accomodate you in the cabin of your choice upon your return.
People in the past have waited until the last minute to book their vacations. However, we have noticed a trend in the economy lately, our guests are beginning to book far in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsvill, AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We rented one of the Mountain Suites as we originally were supposed to be with another couple who had to cancel. We've stayed at various cabins and cottages in the area and for the price the Mountain Suite was nice and very big. It would have been great with a couple of friends. With just the wife and I it felt cavernous and empty but since we were out enjoying the perfect fall weather most of the time it didn't matter! The staff was courteous and responsive through the reservation and arrival process. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morph1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT. HOLLY, NC
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I went up to the Nantahala Village Resort and Spa in Bryson City, NC this past weekend, and it was awesome. The accomodations were great. The place was extremely clean and the food was great. I came back to work this morning telling everybody about that place. Shawn (the reservationist and also a waitress there) was very helpful everytime I called. She made our reservations and even was our waitress on Saturday night. I fyou are looking for a romantic weekend or even family time with kids, don't pass this place up. They have many accomodations from numerous cabins and houses to rent as well as the romantic cozy fireplace suites, a place to meet any of your needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMTHOLLYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights. The staff was incredible, made us feel very welcome and that we were appreciated. My husband went fishing and Shawn at the front desk drove me to their spa and back! Wow. That same morning, the resturant was closed but the staff prepared a continential breakfast for me. Kim at the spa was unbelieveable, so relaxing and wonderful. Jennifer, who cleaned our room was so friendly and you could tell whe was proud of the lodge and also made us feel very welcome. Great place, great people. These folks went above and beyond and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
16.0 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
492 reviews
8.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
22.5 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
11.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
210 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Property: Nantahala Village
Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing