We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“......Old Dirty Cabins........”
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nantahala Village
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bistro restaurant was great, cabins not so much. Cabin was dirty, hot tub dirty and old old old. Bathroom door was put on backwards and almost imposable to get in. Furniture smelled bad and basic utensils were not provided. Eat at the Bistro and stay some where else.

Room Tip: Wait until the cabins are up graded and be sure to confirm hot tub is drained cleaned and refilled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I'm sorry your stay with us was disappointing. Our Historic Cabins are indeed old and unique to the property. We are in the process of replacing furniture which will be complete before opening next season. Thank you for your compliments about the Village Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay (Oct. 18-20, 2013) in Fireplace Suite #17 which had a beautiful view of the meadow and the pond. We were very surprised upon that the room was as large as it was. It was very nice, clean and had everything we needed. It was especially nice to have a 12 cup coffee pot in the room. The deck with the fireplace and hot tub was well used. Very relaxing after a long day. On Saturday night we had dinner in the restaurant, which is lovely and has a beautiful mountain view. My husband and I both ordered the filet with mashed potatoes and asparagus, which was wonderful and cooked to perfection. Compliments to the chef. The bar was very friendly and also had a great atmosphere. One thing lacking was no type of breakfast was available on the property, however, the Nantahala Village is in a convenient location and only about 5 miles in one direction to NOC, Rivers End (for breakfast, lunch and dinner) and Big Wessers (for BBQ & Brew) or 8 miles in the other direction is Bryson City.

We hope to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your compliments; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Because many businesses in our area cut back service in the latter part of the year, the Village Bistro has started serving breakfast for November and December. We hope you will return for another weekend retreat at Nantahala Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I were here for four days and it was a really great experience- beautiful cabin-employees were courteous and nice- the dining room -only open for dinner was great- as another reviewer said -best asparagus I've ever eaten and the shrimp and steak were to die for!! Only wish they served some sort of breakfeast and housekeeping needs some sort of re-organization-the housekeeping staff does not do the cabins-which we were not told when I booked the cabin- but we the cabin was done on our first day- but the bed was not really made up -just pulled the duvet over the sheets -no clean linen- towels were replenished-but tub and sink were not cleaned- Overall I would book again -but I think I'll wait until management has had time to fully bring this place back to it's former glory----

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for the compliments. We do indeed have a great staff. You are correct, we do not provide daily housekeeping service to the cabins only to Lodge Rooms and Fireplace Suites. Cabins are refreshed every couple of days and towels replaced daily. Next time you come you may want to consider reserving a Lodge Room or Fireplace Suite in order to fully enjoy your vacation stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff is to be commended, but the amenities here are severely lacking. No cold water in the rooms. The staff says this is a reoccurring g problem. We were shortchanged on coffe,cream, glasses, soap and toiletries in the room. There is no food anywhere on the premises except for dinner in the dining room, even though the "resort" is miles from town. You can get coffee downstairs but not before 8:00. If you need anything before 8 am, too bad. The best thing about this place is the employees, and the restaurant which is only open in the evening. Our compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerwannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We do have a great team here at Nantahala Village. It seems that your experience was unfortunate because all Lodge rooms are typically stocked with coffee and coffee condiments as well as soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Seasonally there are other dining options on the property for breakfast and the Bistro has just begun breakfast service for November and December. Other dining options are in Bryson City which is just 8 miles away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I understand from the employees that someone new has taken over this place and is working to revamp the entire place. The reception/bar/restaurant is absolutely beautiful, the food is excellent and moderately priced. We stayed in the only cabin with a good view on the top of the hill (#23). It had a hot tub on the front porch, which is about the only good thing I can say about it. However, we understand that the cabins are next to be redone. As for the food, we ate there two nights. We had pasta w/mushrooms, garlic, oil, arugula & chicken, the Southwest eggrolls, and meatloaf w/marsala gravy and grilled asparagus. Best asparagus ever! All this food was so good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Sharon,
Thank you so much for visiting the Village. I am so grateful for your comments and we are indeed in the process of making this the absolute best place to visit. We are working hard to make Nantahala Village an absolute dream vacation. I'd like to invite you back soon as we are well on our way to making everything great!. All the best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a weekend getaway and found Nantahala Village through Groupon. We opted to stay in the Lodge, meaning we basically had a hotel room. The room was clean and in pretty good shape. It would have been nice if there was more than one chair, but that is kind of nitpicking. My wife felt like the polyester to cotton ratio in the sheets weighed too heavily toward the polyester side, but I didn't really notice. I did notice that the bed was not made when the maid cleaned the room, which was a little odd. Were we to stay here again, and we both agreed that we would, I think we would try one of the cabins, some of which are pet friendly, and maybe bring the kids with us. It was very convenient to the Nantahala Outdoor Center and Nantahala Gorge Canopy Tour, both of which were on our itinerary. If you're looking for a resort/spa type of place, this ain't it. If you're looking for a decent room in beautiful country, this will do quite nicely.

We did eat one dinner in the restaurant. I would say they still have some work to do. My meatloaf was fine, but drenched in an overly rich marsala wine sauce, and accompanied by very bland white rice. My wife's trout was pretty good. For desert we ordered a cold berry bread pudding. The waiter did warn us that it was cold, but that didn't prepare us for how incredibly odd of a dish it really was. The berries were overpowering, and because it was cold, the bread did nothing to balance out their tartness. You weren't even aware that it was a bread pudding. We left half of it on the plate. The second night we just got beer and ribs at the Nanatahala Outdoor Center and ate by the river. It was cheaper and more satisfying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Steven,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you review. We really appreciate customer feed back so we can work as hard a possible to make Natahala Village the Best. Please know that we do take your thoughts to heart and will communicate and integrate your ideas in the appropriate areas. I would like to invite you back once again as we continue to innovate, and update our offerings. Wishing you the very best to come...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

my husband and i stayed here one night...nice piece of property but... stayed in room 5 in the lodge......room was big, clean and an ok view but oh those noisy box springs on the bed!!!.....you could not move an inch but the box springs would squeak and creak.......it was awful! can't believe management has not heard complaints about this before and done something about it!.....bad nights sleep.....the other thing: made dinner reservations to sit on patio overlooking the mountains.....great view if you like the bright burning setting sun in your face....only half the tables on patio were filled because they were right in the bright sun and you had to wear sunglasses and a hat if you sat there.....what made disturbing was the friendly hostess acted like this was the most amazing table to sit at.....really??.....we asked to be seated inside and so did the next 6 couples who arrived and they tried to sit at that table.....after an hour, the patio was finally in the shade and a perfect spot...the food:.....i have to rave about the asparagas which was the best i've ever eaten!!.....the very berry bread pudding desert was awful.....take it off the menu!....it was a tart red mass of fruit mush....not even pretty to look at.....the last negative was no breakfast served....not even a simple continental muffin and fruit....had to go to outdoor center 5 miles down the road to eat which for us was ok as we had kayaking reservations that morning.....just surprised that this resort/hotel that has ample eating and cooking facilities does not serve some type of breakfast for guests......on the plus side, amanda at the front desk was a real gem and very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: room 5 has a noisy box springs....beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xctryskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your candid feedback on our property. We work hard to make the Village the Best experience our guest can have. We have addressed your concerns one by one! From the mattress to the comments on the restuarant. Breakfast is now an integral part of our menu, and we've added some great new desserts to our menu and we are investigating how we strategically put shades on the patio for the next summer season. We'd like to invite you back to our property and look forward to making this visit a success. All the best to you and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
11.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
7.7 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#7 of 10 in Bryson City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range: $92 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing